BC Achievement Foundation

BC Achievement Foundation

November 07, 2013 13:53 ET

BC Aboriginal Business Awards Announced

VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwired - Nov. 7, 2013) - The fifth annual British Columbia Aboriginal Business Awards were announced today by Premier Christy Clark and Keith Mitchell, Chair of the BC Achievement Foundation.

The honourees will be celebrated at a gala ceremony on December 5, 2013 at the Westin Bayshore, Vancouver.

"The recipients of the BC Aboriginal Business Awards reflect the strong entrepreneurial spirit in BC's Aboriginal communities," said Premier Clark. "With their success in attracting investment and creating jobs, these individuals and companies play a crucial role in growing the economy and creating more opportunities today and in the future."

"Representing fields such as construction, forestry, land use, urban architecture, art and innovative childcare, the Aboriginal Business Awards demonstrate the breadth of successful Aboriginal businesses in the province," added Keith Mitchell.

The BC Aboriginal Business Awards were launched in 2008 to honour and celebrate business excellence. Six award recipients have been selected and a further group of nine Aboriginal businesses noted for their outstanding achievement.

Members of the jury panel include Kim Baird, of Kim Baird Strategic Consulting; John Harper, retired Director of Economic Initiatives, Ministry of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation and Robert McPhee, Managing Director of the Castlemain Group.

In addition, Chief Commissioner Sophie Pierre has been selected the recipient of the 2013 BC Aboriginal Business Award for Individual Achievement in recognition of her pioneering initiatives in the field of Aboriginal business. This award is selected by the board of directors of the BC Achievement Foundation.

The BC Aboriginal Business Awards are presented by the BC Achievement Foundation in partnership with the Ministry of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation, and generously supported by New Relationship Trust, BC Hydro, Teck, Encana, Spectra Energy and MNPllp.

The BC Achievement Foundation is an independent foundation established and endowed in 2003 by the Province of British Columbia to celebrate community services, the arts, humanities and enterprise.

2013 BC Aboriginal Business Award Recipients

  • Young Entrepreneur of the Year:
    Recipient: Erica Ryan-Gagne, Skidegate

    Outstanding Achievement:
    Terence Giesbrecht, Vernon

  • Business of the Year - one to two person enterprise:
    Recipient: Lisa Shepherd, Metis Artisan, Maple Ridge

    Outstanding Achievement:
    Transformation International, Alert Bay

  • Business of the Year - two to ten person enterprise:
    Recipient: Budding Children's Garden and Daycare, Vancouver

    Outstanding Achievement:
    Formline Architecture + Urbanism, Vancouver
    Salmon 'n Bannock Bistro Ltd., Vancouver

  • Business of the Year - ten or more person enterprise:
    Recipient: Sun Ridge Equipment Ltd., Kamloops

    Outstanding Achievement:
    Spirit Lake Silviculture, Campbell River
    Tipi Mountain Native Plants Ltd., Cranbrook

  • Community-Owned Business of the Year:
    Recipient: Haida Enterprise Corporation (HaiCo), Skidegate

    Outstanding Achievement:
    Chu Cho Industries, Mackenzie
    I-HOS Gallery, Courtenay

  • Joint Venture Business of the Year:
    Recipient: Ts'elxweyeqw Tribe Management Ltd. (TTML), Chilliwack

    Outstanding Achievement:
    LHI Tutl'it Services Inc., Prince George

  • Individual Achievement Award Recipient
    Recipient: Sophie Pierre

Detailed information about the awards and a list of past winners is posted on the foundation's website at www.bcachievement.com.

Contact Information