Association of Registered Nurses of BC (ARNBC)

Association of Registered Nurses of BC (ARNBC)

November 19, 2015 20:30 ET

B.C. Honours Excellence in Nursing

VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwired - Nov. 19, 2015) - The Association of Registered Nurses of British Columbia (ARNBC) is honouring 14 exceptional individuals who have demonstrated excellence in nursing practice, research and leadership, tonight at the 2015 ARNBC Nursing Awards.

"This year's nursing awards highlight the dedication, commitment and professionalism of over a dozen nurses, who represent the excellent care provided to patients throughout B.C. every day," said Health Minister Terry Lake.

Nursing Excellence Award winners for 2015 include:

  • Patricia Mary Agon - Excellence in Nursing Practice (Vancouver/Richmond)
  • Penny Cooper - Excellence in Nursing Administration (Island Health)
  • Karen Ruth Desormeau - Excellence in Nursing Practice (McBride)
  • Miranda Fehr - Rising Star (Fort St. John)
  • Catherine Heritage - Excellence in Nursing Administration (Surrey)
  • Rosemary Hill - Excellence in Nursing Practice (Vancouver)
  • Krista Lussier - Excellence in Nursing Education (Kamloops)
  • Marjorie MacDonald - Excellence in Advancing Nursing Knowledge & Research (University of Victoria)
  • Joanne Maclaren - Excellence in Nursing Advocacy (Island Health)
  • Mary Van Osch - Innovation in Nursing (Fraser Health)
  • Victoria Power - Excellence in Nursing Advocacy (Island Health)
  • Cheryl Anne Prescott - Excellence in Nursing Education (BCCDC)
  • Darcy Ross - Excellence in Nursing Advocacy (Island Health)
  • Patricia Woods - Excellence in Nursing Advocacy (Langara)

"Continuing the tradition of recognizing excellence in nursing is very important to our profession," said Zak Matieschyn, ARNBC President. "It is an honour and inspiration to read the stories of these incredibly committed individuals, and to take a moment to applaud their achievements on behalf of all British Columbians."

This year also marks the inaugural presentation of the Quinn Fowlie Scholarship, which will be awarded yearly to a promising young person who has benefitted from the support of nurses throughout his or her youth. The first winner, and the Award's namesake, Quinn Fowlie, has benefitted from the support and expertise of many nurses who have made it possible for him to attend school, recover from surgeries and manage his health.

"Nurses are an essential part of primary care in British Columbia and a partner in the changes we are making to improve our province's health care system," added Lake. "Just as nurses do every day, we know that we need to focus on actions to improve the overall health of the population by putting the patient at the centre of health care delivery."

This is the first year that ARNBC has hosted B.C.'s nursing recognition awards, which have been presented to deserving nurses by the Registered Nurses Association of BC/College of Registered Nurses of British Columbia for the past 30 years. Recipients are nominated and adjudicated by their peers and receive their awards at a gala ceremony held in downtown Vancouver. This year's gala included a number of dignitaries, award recipients and nurse leaders, and was emceed by Lynn Stevenson, Associate Deputy Minister of Health.

ARNBC is British Columbia's professional association representing registered nurses and nurse practitioners. For more information on ARNBC, or for pictures of the 2015 Nursing Awards, please visit

Contact Information