BC Medical Association

BC Medical Association

June 07, 2008 12:00 ET

BC Medical Association Congratulates its Award Winners

VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwire - June 7, 2008) - The BC Medical Association is pleased to honour its 2008 award recipients.

Dr. David M Bachop Silver Medal in General Medical Practice

- Dr. Samantha Meredith, Vancouver, BC

Dr. David M Bachop Gold Medal for Distinguished Medical Service

- Dr. Galt Wilson, Prince George, BC

The Dr. David M Bachop Awards Fund was established in 1988 to honour Dr. Bachop's memory and to uphold the principles by which he lived his life. His dedication to patients and the principles of clinical medicine won him the respect of his patients and colleagues.

Dr. Cam Coady Award

- Dr. James Newbery, New Hazelton, BC

The Dr. Cam Coady Foundation was established in 1988 to commemorate Dr. Coady's great love of medicine and to ensure his objective to achieve excellence in health care continue to be fostered. Dr. Coady has been described as the architect of laboratory medicine as it exists within organized medicine today in BC.

BCMA Silver Medal of Service

- Dr. Thomas Ashton, Penticton, BC

- Dr. Graham Clay, Vancouver, BC

- Dr. Ken Kolotyluk, Vancouver, BC

Established in 1986, the British Columbia Medical Association Silver Medal of Service confers the Association's highest honour. Criteria for the award include long and distinguished service to the BCMA; outstanding contributions to medicine and/or political involvement in BC or Canada; or outstanding contributions by a layperson to medicine or to the welfare of the people of BC or Canada.

The winners will receive their awards at the association's annual general meeting this Saturday, June 7, in Prince George at the Coast Inn of the North beginning at 6pm.

Contact Information

  • BC Medical Association
    Sharon Shore
    Senior Manager of Communications and Media Relations
    Pager: (604) 306-1866
    Website: www.bcma.org