British Columbia Safety Authority

British Columbia Safety Authority

July 13, 2010 10:30 ET

BC Safety Authority: Help Us Find Safety Superheroes; Nominations Open for the 6th Annual Lieutenant Governor's Awards for Public Safety

VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwire - July 13, 2010) - Every day in British Columbia, individuals and organizations work tirelessly to protect the public by making our communities a safer place to work, live and play.

The sixth annual Lieutenant Governor's Awards for Public Safety is seeking nominations to honour British Columbians for their outstanding contributions to public safety. These can be an individual, organization or a group of people in the community. The annual awards program is presented by the BC Safety Authority (BCSA) under the auspices of His Honour, The Honourable Steven Point, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia.

"At the BC Safety Authority, we believe 'Safety Superheroes' warrant recognition for their dedication, leadership and innovation in the pursuit of safety excellence," said Harry Diemer, BCSA's President and CEO. "We encourage British Columbians to nominate deserving individuals and organizations for this award."

Nominations close Sept. 17. This year's awards will be presented at a luncheon on Nov. 23 at the Vancouver Convention Centre. The three award categories are:

  • Lifetime Achievement
  • Exceptional Contribution to Public Safety: Individual
  • Exceptional Contribution to Public Safety: Organization

The Lieutenant Governor's Awards for Public Safety exist to encourage safe practices, procedures, behaviours and attitudes by acknowledging those British Columbians who make positive contributions to our provincial safety system.

Award recipients will be selected by the Lieutenant Governor's Public Safety Selection Committee, which includes a senior staff member of the BC Safety Authority, representatives from safety organizations, and other respected individuals in the safety field.

The awards are made possible through the generous support of the following sponsors: WorkSafeBC (Platinum); Terasen Gas and Fortis BC (Gold); Applied Science Technologists and Technicians of BC, CSA Group, Teck Resources Ltd., (Silver); BC Association for Crane Safety, BC Construction Association, BC Hydro, Canadian Home Builders' Association of BC, Electrical Contractors Association of BC, Electrical Industry Training Institute, Justice Institute of BC, and Spectra Energy Transmission (Bronze); and Business in Vancouver (Employment Paper) and Black Press (Media).

2009 Winners:

  • Lifetime Achievement: Laurie Baker, Manager of Road Safety Performance, Planning and Analysis, ICBC.
  • Individual: Roberta Sheng-Taylor, Manager of Health and Safety, LTS Solutions.
  • Organization: SkyTrain.

The BC Safety Authority mandates the safe installation and use of technical equipment. The BCSA also issues permits and licences, educates, and conducts on-site inspections in high-risk situations.

For more information and nomination forms visit the BCSA web site at:

Contact Information