BC Medical Association

BC Medical Association

June 14, 2005 18:33 ET

BCMA Congratulates Each of its Award Winners

VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(CCNMatthews - June 14, 2005) - The BC Medical Association is pleased to honour its 2005 award recipients. The winners received their awards at the association's annual general meeting held Saturday, June 11, 2005.

Dr. David M Bachop Silver Medal in General Medical Practice

- Dr. Ronbir Singh Rakhra

Dr. David M Bachop Gold Medal for Distinguished Medical Service

- Dr. Clive Patrick Duncan

The Dr. David M Bachop Awards Fund was established in 1988 to honour Dr. Bachop's memory and to uphold the principles by which he lived his life. His dedication to patients and the principles of clinical medicine won him the respect of his patients and colleagues.

Dr. Cam Coady Award

- Dr. Arun K. Garg

The Dr. Cam Coady Foundation was established in 1988 to commemorate Dr. Coady's great love of medicine and to ensure his objectives to achieve excellence in health care continue to be fostered. Dr. Coady has been described as the architect of laboratory medicine as it exists within organized medicine today in BC.

BCMA Silver Medal of Service

- Dr. John F. Blatherwick

- Dr. John O'Brien-Bell

- Dr. William (Bill) Thomas

Established in 1986, the British Columbia Medical Association Silver Medal of Service confers the Association's highest honour. Criteria for the award include long and distinguished service to the BCMA; outstanding contributions to medicine and/or political involvement in BC or Canada; or outstanding contributions by a layperson to medicine or to the welfare of the people of BC or Canada.

Contact Information

  • BC Medical Association
    Sharon Shore
    (604) 638-2832 or Pager: (604) 680-1968