SOURCE: Rhino Records

August 14, 2008 12:00 ET

Best Bette Hits the Jackpot

Rhino's 19-Song Retrospective Spans the Acclaimed Artist's Divine Career and Features Her Biggest Hits With an Unreleased Demo; Available September 23 From Rhino Records

LOS ANGELES, CA--(Marketwire - August 14, 2008) - Bette Midler is an artist of stunning versatility who can leave you in tears with a funny story or a sad song. A gifted actress and natural comedian, Midler is best known as an exceptional interpreter of song, winning four Grammy® Awards since her 1972 debut with Atlantic Records. As Midler continues to charm Sin City with her ongoing concert show at Caesars Palace, The Showgirl Must Go On, Rhino pays tribute to the Divine Miss M with a career-spanning collection of her biggest hits and an unreleased demo. JACKPOT -- THE BEST BETTE will be available on September 23 from Rhino Records at all physical and digital outlets, including, for a suggested list price of $18.98 for CD and $14.98 for digital download.

The 19-song retrospective paints a vibrant portrait of Midler's uncanny ability to inhabit any style of music and make it her own. Taken from nine studio albums, this eclectic selection touches on girl group ("Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy"), Top 40 ("Friends"), soul ("When A Man Loves A Woman"), standards ("This Ole House"), holiday ("Cool Yule") and rock ("Beast Of Burden").

JACKPOT also spotlights two of Midler's most important musical milestones. The first is "Wind Beneath My Wings," her first #1 hit and winner of the 1989 Grammy® Award for Record of the Year. The second is "From A Distance," winner of the 1990 Grammy® for Song of the Year and a #2 hit for Midler from her platinum-certified album Some People's Lives.

Alongside the familiar melodies on JACKPOT is "Something Your Heart Has Been Telling Me," an unreleased demo Midler recorded in the summer of 1984 with renowned songwriters Robert Kraft and Barry Reynolds. Kraft recalls cutting the track at Atlantic Studios: "I always thought there was some magic in those sessions, because the songs seemed to acquire a haunting, almost bittersweet quality as we laid down the tracks. Roberta Flack recorded this song several years later, but I have always been a fan of Bette's original vocal on this version."

For additional information regarding JACKPOT -- THE BEST BETTE, please contact Lellie Capwell in the Rhino Records Media Relations Department at 818-238-6246 or or Jessica Berger or Ken Sunshine at Sunshine, Sachs & Associates at 212-691-2800 or

Track Listing

1.  "In The Mood"
2.  "This Ole House"
3.  "Beast Of Burden"
4.  "Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me)"
5.  "The Rose"
6.  "When A Man Loves A Woman"
7.  "I've Still Got My Health"
8.  "Spring Can Really Hang You Up The Most"
9.  "Hello In There"
10. "The Glory Of Love"
11. "Tenderly"
12. "Wind Beneath My Wings"
13. "Do You Want To Dance?"
14. "Baby Mine"
15. "From A Distance"
16. "Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy" -- Single Version
17. "Friends"
18. "Something Your Heart Has Been Telling Me" *
19. "Cool Yule"

* Previously unreleased

Contact Information