Big Sky Energy Corporation
OTC Bulletin Board : BSKO

Big Sky Energy Corporation

October 19, 2005 16:00 ET

Big Sky Energy Proposes Changes to Its Board of Directors

CALGARY, ALBERTA--(CCNMatthews - Oct. 19, 2005) - Big Sky Energy Corporation (OTCBB:BSKO) (the "Company") is pleased to announce today that Mr. Guglielmo A.C. Moscato, and Dr. Louis J.K.J. Reijtenbagh have agreed to stand for election to its Board of Directors at its upcoming Annual General Meeting of Shareholders.

Mr. Moscato's career spans 40 years with Eni SpA and its major subsidiary Agip; Italy's largest corporation and the world's seventh largest public oil company. Mr. Moscato recently retired as a Director of Eni in June 2005, a position he maintained since 2000. He acted as Eni's Chairman from 1996 to 1999, and from 1993 to 1997 he was the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Agip. In this capacity, he negotiated and finalized the acquisition of the Karachaganak field and Eni's Caspian permits in Kazakhstan, which would prove to yield the discovery of the super-giant Kashagan oilfield. Mr. Moscato graduated in 1961 with a Doctorate in Engineering from the Politecnico di Milano and commenced his career as a Petroleum Engineer in 1962 at Agip. Mr. Moscato is the honorary Chairman of the Italy Kazakhstan Association.

Dr. Reijtenbagh is the CEO of the Plaza Group, a securities management firm with offices in Monaco, Luxembourg, and New York. Dr. Reijtenbagh graduated from the Medical Doctors KU University Nijmegen of the Netherlands in 1975 and practiced as an independent physician from 1976 to 1990 prior to starting the Plaza Group.

A third candidate for election will be a minor shareholder nominee with whom negotiations are still ongoing.

"We are very pleased to welcome Mr. Moscato and Dr. Reijtenbagh to our Board as we are about to commence oil production," stated Mr. Al Sehsuvaroglu, President and Chief Executive Officer. "We will look to their extensive and varied experience as we continue to expand our operations in Kazakhstan."

These gentlemen will join existing Directors Mr. A. Sehsuvaroglu, Mr. B. Swersky, Dr. P. Pardo, Mr. S. Harunoglu, Mr. B. Gaston, and Mr. M. Heysel. Mr. D. Yang, Mr. T. Milne, and Mr. N. Balgimbayev will not stand for re-election.

As previously announced, the Company is committed to holding its Annual General Meeting of Shareholders within the fourth quarter of 2005 and will be filing a Form 14A Proxy Statement with the US Securities and Exchange Commission shortly.

Big Sky Energy Corporation is an international oil and gas company looking to develop assets in the world's most prolific basins in order to become a leading low-cost finder of hydrocarbons. The Company is currently operating in Kazakhstan's renowned pre-Caspian basin.

NOTE: The information contained in this press release contains forward looking statements which are based on the current expectations of the management of Big Sky Energy Corporation only, and actual results may differ materially. For a more detailed discussion of risks and other factors related to Big Sky Energy Corporation, please refer to its Form 10-KSB and Form 10-QSB reports, as filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

Contact Information

  • Big Sky Energy Corporation
    Mr. Matthew Heysel
    (403) 234-8282
    (403) 265-8808 (FAX)
    Big Sky Energy Corporation
    Mr. S. A. (Al) Sehsuvaroglu
    President and CEO
    7 3272 598 903
    7 3272 597 628 (FAX)