SOURCE: The Society of Exploration Geophysicists

The Society of Exploration Geophysicists

August 05, 2015 15:29 ET

Bill Abriel Named SEG® President-Elect

Industry Veteran Among Six Newly Elected to SEG Board of Directors

TULSA, OK--(Marketwired - August 05, 2015) - The Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG) today announced the results of its 2015-2016 board of directors election. Topping the list of incoming board members, Bill Abriel was selected by a vote of active SEG members to serve as president-elect for 2015-2016. Following his one-year term as president-elect, Abriel will assume the office of SEG president following SEG's 2016 Annual Meeting, scheduled for 16-21 October 2016 in Dallas.

A veteran of the geophysics industry, Abriel worked with Chevron for 36 years before retiring in May 2015. He was the geophysical lead for Chevron projects in many oil and gas basins around the world, concentrating on North America, China, Australia, South America, Russia, and Eurasia.

Abriel, of Orinda, California, has participated in many technical committees for SEG meetings over the years, has been a member of the editorial board of The Leading Edge, an associate editor of GEOPHYSICS, and is currently an associate editor of Interpretation. He was the SEG Spring Distinguished Lecturer in 2004 and the Distinguished Instructor in 2008. Abriel is a founding board member and board chair of the research consortium, SEG Advanced Modeling Corporation (SEAM). He was named an SEG life member in 2007 and was SEG first vice president in 2012. Abriel received a B.S. in geosciences and an M.S. in geophysics, both from Pennsylvania State University, where he was a founding member of the SEG student chapter.

Also elected to the 2015-2016 board of directors were Jie Zhang as second vice president, Mauricio Sacchi as editor, Rocky Detomo and Vladimir Grechka as directors at large, and Lee Lawyer, who was elected by the SEG Council to serve as council chair. Completing the board of directors for 2015-2016 will be eight incumbents from the current board: John Bradford, the current president-elect, who will become president; Eve Sprunt, the current second vice president, who will become first vice president; Christopher Liner, the current president, who will become past president; Alison Small, who will serve a second year as treasurer; and Guillaume Cambois, Gustavo Carstens, Xianhuai Zhu, and Maurice Nessim, who will return as directors at large. The new Board will assume leadership of the society after the conclusion of SEG's 2015 Annual Meeting in New Orleans in October.

About SEG
The Society of Exploration Geophysicists, the international society of applied geophysics, is a not-for-profit organization that promotes the science of geophysics and the education of applied geophysicists. SEG exists to connect, inspire, and propel the people and science of geophysics. SEG fulfills its mission through its publications, conferences, forums, educational opportunities, and multiple Web site resources. For more information, visit

Contact Information