Monsanto Canada Inc.

Monsanto Canada Inc.

April 01, 2013 11:00 ET

Bill North, Sr. Team Clinches 2012-13 DEKALB Super League Curling Championship

WINNIPEG, MANITOBA--(Marketwire - April 1, 2013) - Bill North, Sr. and his Carman team of Shawn McCutcheon, Kelvin Smith and Brian Coates are the 2012-13 DEKALB Super League Champions.

The Carman team captured the championship March 28th in Portage with a final game 6-3 victory over David Hamblin-Morris (Ross Derksen, Kyle Peters, Lance Derksen). The league's championship playoff was re-scheduled from January 12th due to weather.

The champion North foursome took home the $3,000 championship cheque to go with the $1,000 they earned for their $200-per-win round robin record of five wins and four losses. The Morris team pocketed $1,600 plus $1,200 for their 6-3 round robin record.

The champions established the three point margin of victory with an opening end deuce and steal of one on the second end. The Morris foursome fought back to within a point when they stole a single of their own on the sixth end. That was a close as the game got. North took a deuce on the seventh end and ran Hamblin out of rocks coming home.

North advanced to the final with a semi-final 8-3 win over Daryl Bachalo-Portage while Hamblin's semi-final win was 6-2 over Ryan-Thomson-Morden.

Sponsored by Monsanto and its DEKALB seed brand, the DEKALB Super League is a competitive curling league that runs October through January annually and features many of the top amateur, competitive curling teams in Southern Manitoba.

Monsanto contributes $10,000 in funding to support the league, which is coordinated and managed by a volunteer executive made up of the players. Across the 10-team, 9-game round robin, winning teams earned $9,000 in per-win payouts. In the championship round an additional $9,000 was paid out.

"Monsanto and the DEKALB seed brand is a strong supporter of curling at the national, provincial and local level and we are always looking for ways to give back to local communities and support projects or events that are important to our farm customers," said Trish Jordan, public and industry affairs director with Monsanto Canada based in Winnipeg. "The DEKALB Super League allows us to support a game that is embraced by rural communities, as well as support some of our customers and several rural curling clubs. We are happy to give back in this way."

In addition to the prize money, the DEKALB Super League's ice rentals deposited a total of over $3,000 in the operating accounts of the three curling clubs (Morris, Carman, Portage) which hosted league and playoff games.

2012-13 FINAL STANDINGS - AFTER PLAYOFFS (Round Robin Record in Brackets)

1. Bill North, Sr.-Carman (5-4)
2. David Hamblin-Morris (6-3)
3. Ryan Thomson-Morden (5-4)
4. Daryl Bachalo-Portage (7-2)
5. Rob Findlay-Carman (5-4)
6. Dean North-Carman (5-4)
7. Darko Reischek-Lansdowne (4-5)
8. Tom Hyde-Portage (1-8)
9. Bob Bartley-Carman-Monsanto (4-5)
10. Ryan Hyde-Portage (3-6)

You can learn more about the league, this year's teams and final results at

About DEKALB/Monsanto

DEKALB brand seed is part of the larger global Monsanto family. Monsanto Canada is headquartered in Winnipeg, Manitoba. Monsanto Company is an agricultural company and a leading global provider of technology - focused on enabling both small-holder and large-scale farmers to produce more from their land while conserving more of world's natural resources such as water and energy. Learn more about our business and our commitments at

Contact Information

  • Monsanto Canada
    Trish Jordan
    Public and Industry Affairs Director
    (204) 985 1005

    DEKALB Super League Executive
    Tom Hyde
    (204) 870 0147