April 18, 2005 10:00 ET

Blazing New Trails in Health Care -- Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy Hosts 17th Annual Meeting and Showcase in Denver, Colorado April 20 - 23, 2005

Nationally Renowned Keynote Speakers, New Research Presentations, Achievement Awards, Competitions and Board Inaugurations Fill the Agenda for Managed Care Pharmacy's Premier Event

ALEXANDRIA, VA -- (MARKET WIRE) -- April 18, 2005 -- As the details and deliverables of the new Medicare Prescription Part D Benefit emerge, practitioners, providers and health plans all need to know how this legislation will affect their practice and what they must do now to prepare. At AMCP's Annual Meeting, attendees will learn about the changes taking place in this dynamic arena and explore the trends that are emerging.

Both continuing education credits (CE) and continuing medical education credits (CME) will be available to health care professionals. In addition, due to an overwhelmingly approved ballot initiative, a new membership category has been created: Health Care Practitioner (Non-Pharmacist), for physicians and registered nurses. "It's clear that our members are dedicated to inclusiveness in their desire to make sure that more, rather than fewer, individuals understand and embrace the coming changes in the application of the pharmacy benefit," said Judith Cahill, executive director of the Academy. "When Medicare Part D becomes effective in January 2006, managed care principles will guide care for over two-thirds of the U.S. population. We are excited to welcome these new members and learn from them as much as they learn from us."



Frank Maguire, entrepreneur, author and critical thinker who made "absolutely, positively overnight" into an American mantra.


Newt Gingrich, former Speaker of the House, offers his unique perspective of the political landscape and the future of health care.


Paul J. Wallace, MD (Executive Director, Kaiser Permanente National Care Management Institute) and Jon Rasmussen, PharmD (Chief of Clinical Pharmacy Cardiac Risk Service/Disease State Management, Kaiser Permanente, Colorado) discuss real-world methodologies for putting evidence-based medicine to work in managed care environments.


--  Organizational and professional challenges of the new Medicare
    Modernization Act, including implementation of the new prescription drug
    benefit; managing dual eligibles; the decision process for Part D
    participation and understanding actuarial issues.
--  Consumer-driven health plans and the pharmacy benefit
--  Pending and proposed state and federal legislation
--  Diabetes management in the Hispanic population - how a community
    approach in Texas works
--  Managed Medicaid and the impact of atypical antipsychotics
--  Pros and cons of dose consolidation - are the savings worth the
--  Pharmaceutical pipeline - top new drugs, time to market and impact on
    health care costs

New president, president-elect and directors of the Board inaugurated

Dianne A. Kane Parker, PharmD, Health Outcomes and Pharmacoeconomics Regional Medical Liaison, Medical Affairs, Amgen becomes AMCP's president of the Board of Directors. She is a recipient of AMCP's Distinguished Service Award, and has been an Academy member for 15 years.

Steven W. Gray, PharmD, JD, becomes AMCP's president-elect. Gray leads the Pharmacy Professional Affairs group in Kaiser Permanente's California Region, responsible for Pharmacy Operations Corporate Compliance and Professional Affairs. Gray is also a member of the State Bar of California.

Cathryn A. Carroll, BS Pharm, MBA, MA, PhD, was elected to a two-year term as Treasurer. Carroll is the director of Research, Patient Care Services at Children's Mercy Hospital and Clinics in Kansas City, a lecturer in Health Administration at the Henry W. Block School of Business and Public Administration and an assistant professor of Health Economics at the University of Missouri-Kansas City.

Two new directors will be seated on the Board. Elaine Manieri, RPh, a clinical leader for Caremark, Inc., is responsible for delivering clinical solutions to health plans across the United States and Puerto Rico. Brian Sweet, RPh, MBA, is responsible for all Clinical Pharmacy Services and External Health Plan Account Management for WellPoint Pharmacy Management. The term for directors is two years.

Retaining their Board positions are: Director Janeen McBride, BS Pharm, associate vice president of National Sales, MedImpact; Director Mark J. Rubino, RPh, MHA, chief pharmacy officer, Aetna; and Director Richard A. Zabinski, PharmD, director of Pharmaceutical Care for UnitedHealthcare. Judith A. Cahill, CEBS, executive director of AMCP, continues in her post as secretary to the Board. Rusty Hailey, PharmD, DPh, MBA will retain a seat on the Board as immediate past president.


The Foundation Award for Achievement recipient is Charles Pulido. Charles Pulido has continuously blazed new trails for pharmacy benefit management throughout his career. Now retired, Pulido enjoyed a long career with PCS Health Systems, Inc., as vice president of Pharmacy Affairs and president of the PCS Services, Inc. PCS Health Systems, under Pulido's guidance, developed the business concept that we know today as pharmacy benefit management organizations, or PBMs. Pulido also served on the committee that developed the first Universal Claim Form when pharmacy claims first began, as well as the committee that developed tape-to-tape standards for transmitting pharmacy claims, taking pharmacies into the age of electronic communications.

The AMCP Distinguished Service Award will be presented to Cynthia J. Pigg, vice president of CIGNA Pharmacy Management. As a past president of the Academy, Pigg will be recognized for her exceptional and sustained volunteer service to the Academy over her 15 years with the organization, including her contributions to two of the Academy's most important projects, the AMCP Format for Formulary Submissions and the AMCP Framework for Quality Drug Therapy.

New AMCP Fellow: A Fellow of the Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy is an Academy member who merits recognition for sustained excellence in the pharmacy profession as well as notable service to AMCP. The 2005 FAMCP inductee is Shawn Burke, RPh, director of Pharmaceutical Services for Coventry Health Care in Kansas City, Missouri.

The AMCP Spirit of Volunteerism Award recognizes John Jones RPh, JD, vice president of Legal and Regulatory Affairs for Prescription Solutions. The Award recognizes Jones' sustained commitment to the Academy as the organization worked to master important issues regarding impending Medicare reform legislation this past year.

The JMCP Award for Excellence was bestowed upon Thomas Delate, PhD; Kathleen A. Fairman, MA; Shelly Carey, MMR; and Brenda R. Motheral, PhD, authors of "Randomized Controlled Trial of a Dose Consolidation Program." Conferred upon the most significant article published during 2004 in the Journal of Managed Care Pharmacy (JMCP), AMCP's marquee publication, the researchers found interventions with prescribers and patients resulted in significantly higher rates of dose consolidation compared with a control group. However, the savings realized after subtracting administrative costs, a 30% non-refill rate and naturally occurring dose consolidation was two to three cents per member per month. The article appeared in the September/October issue.

The Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy's mission is to empower its members to serve society by using sound medication management principles and strategies to achieve positive patient outcomes. AMCP has more than 4,800 members nationally who provide comprehensive coverage and services to the more than 200 million Americans served by managed care. More news and information about AMCP can be obtained on their website, at

NOTE TO EDITORS: Embargo Until April 20, 2005

Contact Information