Bombardier Transportation

TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF


Bombardier Transportation

May 01, 2014 03:58 ET

Bombardier Acquires Australia's Rail Signalling Services (RSS)

- Rail leader Bombardier Transportation extends its presence in Australia

- Combined experience will enable expansion of rail control activities

- Bombardier welcomes the RSS team

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - May 1, 2014) - Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation has purchased a 100% stake in the Australian signalling company Rail Signalling Services (RSS). RSS is an integrated signalling engineering and services supplier with a strong presence in the market, particularly in Victoria and Southern Australia.

RSS' core business is the design, delivery and installation of station interlocking and level crossing systems for mainline and mass transit operations. The acquisition will enable the expansion of signalling activities in a market where large investments are planned and strengthens Bombardier's existing presence. RSS has more than a decade of experience, an in-depth understanding of the market and currently employs 45 people. The current management team remains in position to ensure continued success as part of Bombardier's global Rail Control Solutions Business.

Peter Cedervall, President, Rail Control Solutions Division, Bombardier Transportation, said: "Combining the world class skills of both companies will drive further growth of our signalling activities in Australia, which is a home market for Bombardier."

Stewart Bracken and Martin Scanlon, Directors RSS, added: "RSS is pleased to become an integral part of Bombardier. Bringing together Bombardier's global and RSS' local expertise will provide the Australian market with advanced, innovative and cost effective rail signalling solutions for all levels of complexity."

Bombardier Transportation's Rail Control Solutions portfolio covers the whole range of BOMBARDIER CITYFLO mass transit solutions, from manual to fully automatic, as well as communications-based systems. It provides BOMBARDIER INTERFLO mainline solutions, from conventional to ERTMS Level 2 systems and beyond. Bombardier also provides a complete palette of wayside and onboard signalling products.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. Bombardier's presence in Australia dates back 60 years, delivering key infrastructure projects, rolling stock, systems and services. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indexes. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013, we posted revenues of $18.2 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER, CITYFLO and INTERFLO are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223

John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com

Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687

Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com

Canada: +1 450 441 3007

Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com

China: +86 10 8517 2268

Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com

France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38

Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com

Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe: +49 30 98607 1134

Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com

India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093

Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com

Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714

Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com

Middle East: +44 1332 266031

Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com

Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213

Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com

South East Asia: +65 6478 6235

Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com

Southern Africa and Israel: +49 30 98607 1147

Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com

UK: +44 7971 850 606

Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk

USA: +1 450 441 3007

Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information