Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

November 19, 2014 07:53 ET

Bombardier Automated People Mover Vehicles Enter Service in Singapore

Fleet expansion for the BOMBARDIER INNOVIA APM 100 automated people mover system in Singapore to meet rising public demand for urban transit in the Choa Chu Kang and Bukit Panjang districts

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - Nov. 19, 2014) -

Editors' Note: There is a photo associated with this press release.

The Singapore Land Transit Authority (LTA) today launched its first two new INNOVIA APM 100 automated people mover vehicles into passenger service on the Bukit Panjang Light Rapid Transit (LRT) system. LTA ordered 13 additional INNOVIA APM 100 vehicles from Bombardier in 2012 to substantially increase public transportation services in the Choa Chu Kang and Bukit Panjang districts. Bombardier will deliver eight vehicles in 2014 and the remaining five vehicles will follow in 2015.

Peak-hour capacity will grow by approximately 50 per cent once all of the new vehicles are in service. Bombardier is also upgrading the LRT signalling and communications sub-systems to enhance overall system capacity and to integrate new platforms at the Choa Chu Kang LRT station into the system. Regular passengers on this popular urban transit system will enjoy improved services including more frequent trains and shorter waiting times.

Benoit Cattin-Martel, Vice President Asia Pacific, Systems Division at Bombardier Transportation, said, "Since services began on the Bukit Panjang LRT system, the Singapore Land Transit Authority has consistently seen passenger numbers rise every year. The new fleet of INNOVIA APM 100 vehicles will enable the LTA to run more trains in two-car configurations thereby increasing capacity and improving services for commuters, proving that this transit technology is an ideal choice for urban operators."

The original Bukit Panjang LRT system opened in 1999 with 19 INNOVIA APM 100 vehicles and the BOMBARDIER CITYFLO 550 fixed block train control solution for unattended driverless operation. It is an important urban feeder system connecting with rapid transit stations, bus interchanges, local recreational facilities, commercial complexes and schools. The system operates on an exclusive guideway, unhampered by cars and pedestrians. The rubber-tired trains are very quiet with windows that "mist" within six meters of residential buildings, thereby eliminating noise and privacy concerns.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013, we posted revenues of $18.2 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER, INNOVIA, CITYFLO and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

To view the photo associated with this press release, please visit the following link: http://file.marketwire.com/release/979928.JPG

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +33 4801 4617
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com
UK: +44 7971 850 606
Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information