BOMBARDIER TRANSPORTATION
TSX : BBD.A
TSX : BBD.B

BOMBARDIER TRANSPORTATION

August 03, 2012 05:53 ET

Bombardier Awarded 10-Year Operations and Maintenance Services Contract for AirTrain at Newark Liberty International Airport

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwire - Aug. 3, 2012) - Bombardier Transportation announced today that it has signed a contract with the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey (PANYNJ) to provide operations and maintenance (O&M) services for a further 10 years and a capital asset upgrade program to ensure the system continues to perform optimally. The contract is valued at approximately $243 million US (197 million euro) and will start on August 3, 2012.

The AirTrain system at Newark Liberty International Airport first opened in 1996 - the world's first fully automated monorail system at an international airport. A fleet of 12 six-car BOMBARDIER INNOVIA Monorail 100 trains originally served three airport terminals, three stations at remote parking lots and a rental car centre via a 3 km dedicated, dual-lane elevated guideway. Since then, the system has been extended to the North East Corridor (NEC) rail line, increasing its length to 4.7 km, and the fleet expanded to 18 six-car trains.

With more than 100 operations and maintenance specialists on site, Bombardier has provided O&M services on the system since it opened. More than 33 million passengers travelled through the airport last year. To accommodate the high passenger volumes, the system operates 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. Building upon the knowledge gathered over the past 16 years, Bombardier is addressing the challenge of improving the performance and extending the life of the system beyond 2020. The asset upgrade works announced today will involve the overhaul of key sub-systems including the vehicles, track work, communications, power distribution systems and the maintenance recovery vehicle.

Eran Gartner, President Systems, Bombardier Transportation said: "Our innovative, customer-oriented and cost-optimized services draw on Bombardier's worldwide experience in public transport. We will ensure that the AirTrain monorail system continues to form the backbone of ground transport at Newark Liberty International Airport, transporting thousands of riders daily until 2020 and beyond. Newark and our parallel JFK AirTrain operations are strong showcases within Bombardier's portfolio of projects."

Bombardier Transportation is a leading innovator in sustainable mobility. Its highly reliable driverless systems support the urgently needed shift from road to rail to reduce congestion and pollution in major cities and airports. INNOVIA driverless systems have served communities around the world for over 40 years. Many of these systems benefit from Bombardier's complete life cycle and support O&M services. Installed systems include Frankfurt[1], Germany; Rome[1], Italy; Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia; Singapore; Madrid[1], Spain; Atlanta[1], Dallas Fort/Worth[1], Denver[1], Houston[1], Miami, Orlando, Pittsburgh, San Francisco[1], Sacramento[1], Seattle-Tacoma and Tampa, USA. Also in the USA, Bombardier has been awarded the O&M contract for Phoenix Sky Harbor[1], opening in 2012.

[1] denotes systems with full Bombardier Operation & Maintenance (O&M) services.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montreal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America indexes. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011, we posted revenues of $18.3 billion USD. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at
www.bombardier.com/en/transportation/media-centre.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER, INNOVIA and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux, Middle East and North Africa: +49 30 98607 1141
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Austria, Switzerland,
Central and Eastern Europe: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
France: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
India: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-Andre Lefebvre, marc-andre.lefebvre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
South Africa: +49 30 98607 1147
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Europe and South America: +35 1 919 693 728
Luis Ramos, luis.ramos@pt.transport.bombardier.com
UK: +44 142 353 8699
Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information