Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

March 17, 2015 09:45 ET

Bombardier and Brussels Transport Company (STIB) Celebrate the Completion of the World's Largest Single-Vehicle Tram Fleet

- Final delivery is a milestone in Bombardier and STIB's long-term partnership

- STIB now owns the world's largest fleet of BOMBARDIER FLEXITY trams

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - March 17, 2015) -

Editors Note: There is a photo associated with this Press Release.

Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation today handed over the last of 220 FLEXITY trams built for the Brussels transport authority STIB (Société des Transports Intercommunaux de Bruxelles). Upon delivery, STIB now officially owns the world's largest, single-type tram fleet, a milestone in the long term partnership of STIB and Bombardier Transportation.

Bombardier received STIB's initial order for 46 FLEXITY Outlook trams in October 2003. STIB's first option-order for an additional 22 vehicles came in September 2005, followed in January 2008 by another option-order for 87 more trams. In 2010, another order for 65 vehicles brought the number of vehicles in operation by STIB up to an impressive 220. In total, STIB now operates 70 seven-module trams and 150 five-module vehicles.

"Comfort, availability and information really matter to our customers. With these new trams, which are more modern and spacious, we meet our passengers' expectations and continue improving our service and availability. This is much appreciated by our customers according to the latest customer satisfaction survey, here trams were rated equal to metros in terms of comfort", explains Brieuc de Meeûs, CEO of STIB.

Lutz Bertling, President and Chief Operating Officer, Bombardier Transportation, said, "Today, Bombardier has completed a fantastic project. Over the last ten years, we have delivered to STIB 220 FLEXITY trams, the world's biggest fleet of a single type of trams. We are very proud that our 100% low floor trams contribute to providing efficient, passenger-friendly and comfortable public transport in the capital of Europe. We are looking forward to continuing our long-term partnership with STIB in the years to come."

This unique FLEXITY Outlook tram combines Bombardier's proven 100% low floor technology with conventional wheel-set bogies thus ensuring a smooth ride. In 2007, Belgian design organization Design Flanders, awarded the FLEXITY tram with a prestigious Henry van de Velde Label and from January 21 to March 21, 2010, two Brussels trams transported over 550,000 people in Vancouver during the Winter Olympic and Paralympic Games.

Overall, Bombardier now has more than 4,000 trams and light rail vehicles in successful revenue service, or on order, in cities across Europe, Asia, Australia, and North America.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy, and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's largest manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable, and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2014, we posted revenues of $20.1 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html. Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail. To receive our press releases, please visit the RSS Feed section.

BOMBARDIER,FLEXITY,ECO4 and The Evolution of Mobility are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2111
Loulou Hammad, loulou.hammad@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
Poland, Eastern Europe and CIS: +48 22 596 51 22
Maciej Kaczanowski, maciej.kaczanowski@pl.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +33 4801 4617
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com
United Kingdom: +44 1332 251 238
James Rollin, james.rollin@uk.transport.bombardier.com
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

To view the photo associated with this press release, please visit the following link: http://file.marketwire.com/release/DSC09018.JPG

Contact Information