Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

February 10, 2015 08:47 ET

Bombardier Celebrates Innovative Battery Powered Train

- First battery powered train operating a passenger service in the UK in over half a century

- Battery-driven BOMBARDIER ELECTROSTAR train entered passenger operation as part of a trial on British railways

LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM--(Marketwired - Feb. 10, 2015) - Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation is celebrating the launch of an Independently Powered Electric Multiple Unit (IPEMU), which can be driven entirely by battery technology, in addition to drawing power from its pantograph. Modified from an existing Stansted Express Class 379 ELECTROSTAR electrical multiple unit (EMU) train, the upgraded train is operated by Abellio Greater Anglia and is part of a research program partly funded by Network Rail and the Rail Executive arm of the Department for Transport. At the official trade press day, attendees were able to inspect the IPEMU, travel on it to and from Harwich International, and meet with specialists from Bombardier, Network Rail and other partner agencies participating in the project including Valence and Abellio Greater Anglia.

Working with industry stakeholders during a 7-month design phase, Bombardier reconfigured an ELECTROSTAR Class 379 train to enable the installation and integration of an operational traction battery system. The alteration required engineers to modify the carriage creating the necessary space in the underframe to accommodate the lithium iron magnesium battery cells.

Engineers also added high voltage and communications cabling, standard safety features and battery controls as well as integrated the traction and train control management systems. The new design uses existing line converter equipment to charge the batteries and connects the motor converters to the batteries when the 25 kVAC overhead line is not available.

In addition to its low noise and reduced energy consumption, battery operation's main benefit is that it enables the train to cross non-electrified lines or can be used in the event of electrical failures without using overhead wire systems or diesel power. They can also use branch lines where it is not cost-effective to install additional overhead electrification as well as expanding rolling stock capacity by increasing the flexibility of existing diesel powered trains.

After a phased approval process and dynamic track testing, the train entered passenger service in January 2015 as part of a trial.

Per Allmer, Head of Western Europe, Middle East and Africa region at Bombardier Transportation said, "The IPEMU demonstrates what battery technology offers the rail industry. Following extensive design and testing work, the train has now successfully begun a trial passenger service, proving the viability of the concept. It's a technology we can incorporate onto future new-build trains, such as our BOMBARDIER AVENTRA platform and retro-fit into existing modern rail vehicles, adding value to existing fleets."

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013, we posted revenues of $18.2 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER, ELECTROSTAR, AVENTRA and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2111
Loulou Hammad, loulou.hammad@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com
Canada:+1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
Poland, Eastern Europe and CIS: +48 22 596 51 22
Maciej Kaczanowski, maciej.kaczanowski@pl.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +33 4801 4617
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com
United Kingdom: +44 1332 266616
James Rollin, james.rollin@uk.transport.bombardier.com
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information