Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.A
TSX : BBD.B

Bombardier Transportation

December 12, 2013 11:32 ET

Bombardier Celebrates Major Milestone in Delivery to London Underground

- The 1000th Sub-Surface line rail car comes off the production line

- Passengers praise award-winning design of new air-conditioned trains

- At least four trains leave the factory each month

DERBY, UNITED KINGDOM--(Marketwired - Dec. 12, 2013) - Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation today celebrated the production of the 1,000th Sub-Surface line (SSL) car for London Underground at its factory in Derby. Bombardier is the UK's leading train manufacturer and its Derby site has delivered, or has on order, 60% of the UK's fleet of trains. Bombardier is unique in the UK in that it designs, engineers, manufactures and maintains trains locally.

Recent and current orders include iconic tube trains for the Victoria Line, new trains for London Overground and Southern Railway, as well as the trains currently being produced for the Sub-Surface lines of London Underground. The Sub-Surface network, which includes the Metropolitan, Circle, District and Hammersmith & City lines, covers 40% of London Underground's network.

The new SSL trains are the first air-conditioned trains to operate on London Underground and were described by the Mayor of London, Boris Johnson, as "the coolest ride in town". Their award-winning design, featuring open gangways enabling visibility throughout, has been hailed by passengers as transformational.

The 1,000 SSL cars are gradually replacing fleets on Sub-Surface lines. Laid end to end, the cars would create a tube train stretching over 10 miles, just under the distance between Wembley Stadium and the Tower of London. The new trains are being built over a period of five years with at least four trains leaving the factory each month.

In 2014, the factory in Derby will celebrate its 175th anniversary producing trains for the UK. Bombardier has invested heavily in the creation of cutting edge manufacturing and R&D facilities, housed in the original Victorian brick sheds built during the age of steam. In addition, the company continues to recruit new engineering talent to complement the team of 350 engineers in its Derby-based centre of excellence, dedicated to designing and developing new trains for the UK.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indexes. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2012, we posted revenues of $16.8 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France, Benelux and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa and Middle East: +49 30 98607 1147
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Europe and South America: +35 1 919 693 728
Luis Ramos, luis.ramos@pt.transport.bombardier.com
UK: +44 7971 850606
Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information