Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.A
TSX : BBD.B

Bombardier Transportation

June 26, 2012 08:21 ET

Bombardier Confirms Order for 150 Additional Rail Cars for the San Francisco Bay Area

- Firm orders now total 410 rail cars

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwire - June 26, 2012) - Bombardier Transportation announced today that the San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit District (BART) confirmed an order for 150 additional rail cars valued at approximately $266 million US ($274 million CDN, 213 million euro). The order represents the exercise of an option under a contract signed on June 14, 2012. With this option, Bombardier now has firm orders for 410 cars with a total value of approximately $897 million US ($921 million CDN, 715 million euro).

Designated by BART as its "Fleet of the Future", the new cars will replace BART's entire existing fleet and enable system expansion. Bombardier will assemble the cars at its manufacturing plant in Plattsburgh, New York. Ten pilot cars are scheduled to be delivered in the spring of 2015, followed by comprehensive testing of the pilot cars on the BART system. The delivery of the 400 remaining production series cars is expected to follow between early 2017 and the spring of 2020.

Raymond Bachant, President, Bombardier Transportation North America, said: "We appreciate the confidence that BART is demonstrating in Bombardier and look forward to providing BART, its passengers, and all citizens of the Bay Area with new rail cars that meet the need for rapid, reliable and cost-effective urban transport."

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America indexes. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011, we posted revenues of $18.3 billion USD. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/transportation/media-centre.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223

John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com

Benelux, Middle East and North Africa: +49 30 98607 1141

Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com

Canada: +1 450 441 3007

Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com

China: +86 10 8517 2268

Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com

Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe: +49 30 98607 1134

Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com

France: +33 6 07 78 95 38

Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com

India: +91 7 838 660 093

Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com

Mexico: +1 450 441 3007

Marc-Andre Lefebvre, marc-andre.lefebvre@ca.transport.bombardier.com

Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213

Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com

South East Asia: +65 6478 6235

Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com

Southern Europe and South America: +35 1 919 693 728

Luis Ramos, luis.ramos@pt.transport.bombardier.com

UK: +44 142 353 8699

Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk

USA: +1 450 441 3007

Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information