Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

November 05, 2014 08:23 ET

Bombardier and CSR Puzhen Announce Joint Venture for Monorail and Automated People Mover Projects

- New deal to bring advanced BOMBARDIER INNOVIA Monorail and INNOVIA Automated People Mover (APM) technologies to China for urban and airport transportation

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - Nov. 5, 2014) - Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation and CSR Nanjing Puzhen Co. Ltd (CSR Puzhen), two of the world's largest rail suppliers, have signed an agreement to create a joint venture to develop and manufacture INNOVIA vehicles for urban and airport transit systems. Rapid urbanization and an increase in air travel have created a fast growing market for urban feeder systems and airport transit solutions in China.

Pierre Attendu, President, Systems division at Bombardier Transportation said: "This agreement demonstrates the firm commitment of both parties to develop a long-term industrial partnership that addresses China's urgent need for urban and airport transportation."

Jianwei Zhang, President of Bombardier China said: "We are proud to continue to take an active role in the future of China's rail industry with CSR Puzhen. Together, we will offer cost-effective, medium-capacity INNOVIA transit solutions that can help China's cities to meet their public transportation needs efficiently and sustainably."

Bombardier is a global leader in the turnkey transit system segment. Bombardier's proven INNOVIA APM technology is in operation at 25 locations across the globe, including an urban system in Guangzhou, China as well as at the world's three busiest airports; Atlanta in the USA, Beijing in China and London Heathrow in the United Kingdom. The new generation INNOVIA Monorail 300 system is the most advanced and desirable monorail system on the market and is currently being delivered in São Paulo, Brazil and for the new King Abdullah Financial District in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia.

About Bombardier in China

Bombardier is actively involved in China's development of urban mass transit and advanced railway networks. With four joint ventures and seven Wholly Foreign-Owned Enterprises (WFOE), Bombardier Transportation employs more than 4,000 people in China. Across its rail transportation and aerospace businesses, Bombardier has manufacturing facilities in Qingdao, Changzhou, Suzhou, Shanghai and Changchun, as well as offices in Beijing, Guangzhou, Shanghai, Shenyang and Hong Kong.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013, we posted revenues of $18.2 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER, INNOVIA and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +49 30 98607 1147
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com
UK: +44 7971 850 606
Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information