Bombardier Transportation

TSX : BBD.A
TSX : BBD.B


Bombardier Transportation

February 10, 2014 10:08 ET

Bombardier Demonstrating Cultural Diversity at Charitable Berlin Food Bank Project

40 employees with 16 different nationalities volunteered to collect food at the end of the Fruit Logistica trade fair in Berlin

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - Feb. 10, 2014) - Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation supported the charitable food bank project Berliner Tafel on February 7 as 40 employees volunteered to gather fruit and vegetables at Berlin's largest exhibition centre. Employees from the Bombardier head office in Berlin and from Hennigsdorf, Brandenburg, the largest Bombardier site in Europe, participated in the project for the fourth year in a row. Volunteering projects demonstrate the societal engagement of Bombardier employees. Volunteers with 16 different nationalities, most of them based at the head office in Berlin, demonstrated their commitment for Berlin and Berliners in need.

Under its Corporate Social Responsibility strategy, Bombardier Transportation focuses its community activities worldwide on projects related to education, environment and entrepreneurship. The Berliner Tafel project focuses on the environmental responsibility of redistributing food to people in need instead of wasting surplus food.

The Bombardier volunteers helped the Berliner Tafel to collect 100 tonnes of food from all exhibition halls in a matter of hours. The project then distributes the food to collection points and to people in need across Berlin.

Michael Clausecker, Chairman of the Management Board, Bombardier Transportation Germany, said: "The commitment of our employees to the Berliner Tafel project is founded on our company's global approach to give something back to the communities in which we operate. In Berlin we serve as role models for the entire organization and the German capital benefits twofold from our biggest asset - the passion of our employees and their cultural diversity, which is a prerequisite for the successful execution of our projects worldwide."

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indexes. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2012, we posted revenues of $16.8 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com
Canada:+1 450 441 3007
Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France, Benelux and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa and Israel: +49 30 98607 1147
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com
UK: +44 7971 850 606
Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information