Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

May 05, 2014 12:00 ET

Bombardier Launches Crewing Services for West Coast Express

After many years of successful rolling stock supply in British Columbia, Bombardier begins a new chapter in its partnership with TransLink

VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwired - May 5, 2014) -

Editors Note: There is a photo associated with this Press Release.

Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation today launched its crewing services for TransLink's highly successful West Coast Express commuter rail system in the Lower Mainland region of British Columbia.

Bombardier will provide crews for the West Coast Express BOMBARDIER BiLevel commuter rail fleet of 44 vehicles. Nearly 1,200 BiLevel cars are already in operation across the United States and Canada.

Over the last 20 years, Bombardier has grown to become the North American leader in operations and maintenance services for public transit authorities. Every day, Bombardier Transportation employees across the world launch more than 60 fleets of transit vehicles into safe, reliable and efficient service, providing passengers with an exceptional transportation experience.

"Safe, reliable and courteous service is what our West Coast Express customers have come to expect," said Fred Cummings, President and General Manager of British Columbia Rapid Transit Co. Ltd (BCRTC). BCRTC is an operating subsidiary of TransLink, the regional transportation funding and planning authority, and is responsible for West Coast Express.

"West Coast Express routinely boasts the highest customer service ratings in our regional transportation network, and we look forward to continuing that trend with Bombardier providing crewing services," said Cummings.

"Bombardier is proud to support and partner with West Coast Express in its efforts to further enhance its reputation for reliability and outstanding customer service," said Raymond Bachant, President, Bombardier Transportation Americas. "All our employees are committed to offering safe, high-quality, on-time train performance to the passengers of West Coast Express," he added.

Bombardier has a long-standing track record of providing operations and maintenance services to transit systems across North America including Agence Métropolitaine de Transport in Montréal, GO Transit in Toronto, the Maryland Area Regional Commuter (MARC) Train Service, New Jersey Transit, North County Transit District in California, OC Transpo in Ottawa, the South Florida Regional Transportation Authority, the Southern California Regional Rail Authority and, since May 1, 2014, the Central Florida Commuter Rail Transit project (SunRail) Train Service. Bombardier also supports transit systems with overhaul and refurbishment programs and material and technology solutions.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013, we posted revenues of $18.2 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER, BiLevel and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Austria, Switzerland,
Central and Eastern Europe: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa and Israel: +49 30 98607 1147
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com
UK: +44 7971 850 606
Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

To view the photo associated with this press release, please visit the following link: http://file.marketwire.com/release/WCE.jpg

Contact Information