BOMBARDIER TRANSPORTATION
TSX : BBD.A
TSX : BBD.B
OTCQX : BDRBF

BOMBARDIER TRANSPORTATION
Bombardier Rail Control Solutions

Bombardier Rail Control Solutions

March 31, 2015 07:11 ET

Bombardier Marks a Century of Rail Control Leadership

- Bombardier Transportation celebrates 100 years of pioneering contributions to the rail signalling industry

- With over 27 sites worldwide, Bombardier's international rail control business today partners with customers in over 50 countries

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - March 31, 2015) -

Editors' Note: There is a photo associated with this press release.

Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation is celebrating its 100th anniversary of leadership in rail signalling. The centenary of its Rail Control Solutions (RCS) division will be marked worldwide by a series of employee events reflecting the global reach of Bombardier's rail control business. Its pioneering technical contributions to the signalling industry have transformed rail travel and continue to improve the efficient transportation of millions of passengers and goods around the globe.

The anniversary is celebrated on the date of the inauguration of the Ericsson Railway Technical Department in Sweden, an important forerunner to the Bombardier rail control business. Since then, Bombardier's RCS footprint has expanded to include over 3,600 employees at 27 sites on six continents. Drawing on its extensive global expertise and strong local presence, RCS partners with customers in over 50 countries to provide state-of-the-art mobility solutions.

Peter Cedervall, President, Rail Control Solutions Division, Bombardier Transportation, said, "In looking back on 100 years of Bombardier signalling history, we can take great pride in the game changing technologies introduced by our highly experienced teams working with our customers. Continuously adapting the latest technology has ensured vast improvements in the safety and speed of rail travel as well as connectivity, automation and capacity. We look forward to shaping the future of signalling, for many years to come."

Bombardier has been involved in many pioneering innovations that have revolutionised global rail control. This includes the world's first computer-based interlocking (CBI) system and the world's first radio-based, moving block train control for driverless, automated people movers. As well as the introduction of the highest speed rail control for China's longest lines, Bombardier was the first to implement European Rail Traffic Management System (ERTMS) Levels 2 and 3/Regional, and its balise technology was chosen as the worldwide standard for ERTMS. Its highly advanced Communications-Based Train Control (CBTC) solution has also been chosen for over 30 projects worldwide as Bombardier continues to diversify into new markets such as the mining industry.

About Rail Control Solutions

Bombardier's Rail Control Solutions portfolio covers the whole range of BOMBARDIER CITYFLO mass transit solutions, from manual to fully automatic to communications-based systems. It provides BOMBARDIER INTERFLO mainline solutions, from conventional systems to European Rail Traffic Management System (ERTMS) Level 3 systems. Bombardier solutions encompass a complete palette of wayside and onboard products.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy, and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's largest manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable, and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2014, we posted revenues of $20.1 billion. News and information are available at www.bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html. Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail. To receive our press releases, please visit the RSS Feed section.

BOMBARDIER, INTERFLO, CITYFLO, ECO 4 and The Evolution of Mobility are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2111
Loulou Hammad, loulou.hammad@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
Poland, Eastern Europe and CIS: +48 22 596 51 22
Maciej Kaczanowski, maciej.kaczanowski@pl.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +33 4801 4617
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com
United Kingdom: +44 1332 251 238
James Rollin, james.rollin@uk.transport.bombardier.com
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

To view the photo associated with this press release, please visit the following link: http://www.marketwire.com/library/20150331-999528%20-%20photo800.jpg

Contact Information