Bombardier Transportation

TSX : BBD.A
TSX : BBD.B


Bombardier Transportation

March 20, 2014 10:40 ET

Bombardier Named Best Manufacturer of Passenger Vehicles at the Revista Ferroviaria Awards in Brazil

New Bombardier production facility in Brazil wins top manufacturing award for its high capacity INNOVIA Monorail 300 vehicles

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - March 20, 2014) - Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation has received the award for Best Manufacturer of Passenger Vehicles at the 25th annual Revista Ferroviaria Awards held in São Paulo, Brazil. These awards are acknowledged as the most prestigious annual prizes for individuals and companies in the railway sector in Brazil.

Bombardier received the award for the high capacity BOMBARDIER INNOVIA Monorail 300 trains currently being manufactured at its Hortolândia site. The vehicles are constructed from lightweight, highly resistant aluminium and composite materials using the most advanced manufacturing techniques. Bombardier is the first railway company in Brazil to introduce new technologies for aluminium carbody manufacturing. The first seven-car train was completed last year and has started dynamic testing on the system between the depot and Oratorio Station.

Chris Fifield, Project Director, received the award for Bombardier and said: "As pioneers of monorail technology for mass transit, we are delighted to win the prestigious Revista Ferroviaria award for Best Manufacturer of Passenger Vehicles. It is less than two years since the inauguration of the Hortolândia manufacturing facility and our employees have done a phenomenal job in establishing the production line and producing the first state-of-the-art INNOVIA Monorail 300 trains."

The INNOVIA Monorail 300 system is Bombardier's newest transportation system technology. Cost effective to introduce without requiring major infrastructure or civil works, it has the capacity to transport 48,000 passengers per hour per direction. The new line, known as 'Line 15 - Silver' will interchange with Metro São Paulo's Line 2 and operate between the urban areas of Vila Prudente and Cidade Tiradentes. A total of 54 7-car monorail trains will operate on the 24 km line, each expected to carry more than 1,000 passengers during peak hours.

The state-of-the-art monorail vehicle manufacturing facility in Hortolândia opened in April 2012. The new production site represents an investment of $15 million US and is intended to become Bombardier's global production centre for monorails. It has generated 250 new jobs directly related to railway vehicle production, including aluminium carbody, bogie and final assembly activities as well as indirect jobs in Bombardier's local supplier base. The investment underlines Bombardier's long-term commitment to Brazil, a market where the company has been active for many years.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indexes. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013, we posted revenues of $18.2 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER, INNOVIA and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Canada:+1 450 441 3007
Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa and Israel: +49 30 98607 1147
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com
UK: +44 7971 850 606
Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information