Bombardier Transportation

TSX : BBD.A
TSX : BBD.B


Bombardier Transportation

March 17, 2014 05:58 ET

Bombardier Signs Contract for South African Locomotives Project

- One of South Africa's largest infrastructure projects to include 240 BOMBARDIER TRAXX Africa locomotives

- Bombardier will manufacture all the locomotives in South Africa

JOHANNESBURG, SOUTH AFRICA--(Marketwired - March 17, 2014) - Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation South Africa (Pty) Ltd has signed a contract with Transnet Freight Rail (TFR) for the delivery of electric locomotives. Bombardier's 240 TRAXX Africa locomotives are set to be part of a complete fleet renewal programme involving four different suppliers. The contract is expected to be effective by end of March 2014, following certain administrative approvals.

TFR will use the dual-voltage electric locomotives for its general freight business in South Africa. The locomotives will be designed for speeds of up to 100 km/h. The TRAXX Africa design benefits from the vast experience of the TRAXX dual voltage locomotives being in operation with many of the leading European rail freight and passenger operators. TRAXX locomotives are well known for their high reliability, excellent traction capabilities, energy efficiency and low maintenance cost.

Bombardier will build all its new locomotives in South Africa and is committed to localizing more than 60% of the contract scope. This implies investments in local manufacturing capacity, training and further improving the skills development of local employees, while working with local partners to achieve the same objectives. In accordance with South Africa's Black Economic Empowerment (BEE) program, this project will create a significant number of quality jobs and skills to complement overall developmental objectives.

Bombardier has been established in South Africa since 1995, supporting local industry in locomotive and commuter train refurbishment programs. As the lead member of the Bombela Consortium, Bombardier was responsible for the core electrical and mechanical design and equipment for the Gautrain Rapid Rail Link. This prestigious turnkey project has provided a new state-of-the-art fleet of commuter trains and signaling systems for passenger services between Johannesburg and Tshwane as well as airport-link trains from Sandton. The majority of the 96 BOMBARDIER ELECTROSTAR vehicles for Gautrain underwent final assembly in South Africa.

As leader of the consortium Bombardier Africa Alliance, Bombardier is also implementing one of the largest conventional mainline re-signalling projects in South Africa. The consortium is delivering the globally-proven BOMBARDIER INTERFLO 200 rail control solution for the Passenger Rail Agency of South Africa (PRASA). This project constitutes a major multidisciplinary rail modernisation of the Durban main corridors.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indexes. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013, we posted revenues of $18.2 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER, TRAXX, ELECTROSTAR, INTERFLO and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Austria, Switzerland,
Central and Eastern Europe: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa and Israel: +49 30 98607 1147
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com
UK: +44 7971 850 606
Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information