Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation
Railpool

Railpool

June 25, 2014 04:54 ET

Bombardier Signs Framework Agreement with Railpool for 65 TRAXX Locomotives and Upgrade of Existing Fleet

- Total potential contract value of up to approximately 250 million euro

- Delivery of locomotives with bigger radius scheduled for 2015 and 2016

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - June 25, 2014) -

Editors Note: There is a photo accompanying this press release.

Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation and the leasing company Railpool have signed a framework agreement for the delivery of 65 BOMBARDIER TRAXX locomotives, with a first call-off of 35 locomotives and an option of up to 30 additional locomotives. The total potential contract value is up to 250 million euro (340 million US). The value of the call-off based on the list price is approximately 135 million euro (184 million US).

This contract extends the operating range of the TRAXX locomotives: The MS1 locomotive will operate on the new East-West corridor linking Poland with the Netherlands. The AC2 locomotive will operate not only in Germany, Switzerland and Austria but also in Hungary and Romania and will be newly equipped with ETCS (European Train Control System) and Last Mile functionality. The last mile feature, an additional diesel-electric engine plus battery, enables AC locomotives to operate even in non-electrified areas such as terminals, stations or ports - changing locomotives for the non-electrified last mile is now a thing of the past.

"With this contract we continue our successful partnership with Bombardier and are able to offer our customers the proven TRAXX locomotives concept. Furthermore, we are developing with Bombardier new corridors and are upgrading our existing fleet with new safety systems, to follow our customers' demands as a reliable partner for the future", said Torsten Lehnert, CEO at Railpool.

"These innovative locomotives will facilitate rail operation on new, international corridors. They also allow for a much longer range and for more flexibility in operation than ever before," added Ulrich Jochem, President Locomotives, Bombardier Transportation.

The locomotives are designed for speeds of up to 160 km/h. Bombardier will assemble the locomotives in Kassel, Germany, carbodies at its Wroclaw site in Poland and bogies in Siegen, Germany. Propulsion and controls as well as ATP (Automatic Train Protection) equipment will be manufactured at Bombardier's sites in Mannheim and Hennigsdorf, Germany, and Västeras, Sweden.

The locomotives are powered by BOMBARDIER MITRAC traction converters offering unmatched reliability. The sophisticated MITRAC control system offers safe and energy efficient traction power for sustainable mobility. MITRAC equipment drives more than 3,000 locomotives globally.

About Railpool

Railpool is one of the leading leasing companies for rolling stock in Europe and operates its fleet of locomotives and train sets across Europe offering a full-service-concept to its customers. Railpool is owned by funds managed by Oaktree Capital Management, L.P., a leader among global investment managers specializing in alternative investments, with $86.2 billion in assets under management as of March 31, 2014.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013, we posted revenues of $18.2 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER, TRAXX, MITRAC and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

To view the photo accompanying this press release, please visit the following link:

http://file.marketwire.com/release/953995.JPG

FOR INFORMATION
Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe
and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +49 30 98607 1147
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com
UK: +44 7971 850 606
Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com
1 MS locomotive: electric multi-system locomotive, designed for operating under all available catenary systems in Europe such as DC (direct current) 1,5/3 kV and AC (alternating current) 15/25 kV.
2 AC locomotive: electric locomotive designed to operate under all AC (alternating current) systems in Europe, such as 15kV and 25kV.

Contact Information