Bombardier Transportation

TSX : BBD.A
TSX : BBD.B


Bombardier Transportation

February 19, 2014 05:03 ET

Bombardier Signs Major Contract with Transport for London (TfL) to Build Crossrail Rolling Stock and Depot

- Bombardier wins contract to provide 65 BOMBARDIER AVENTRA trains and build new maintenance depot for new East-West London rail link

- Contract with TfL valued at £1.3 billion GBP includes maintenance deal

- Order will support more than 1,000 UK jobs

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - Feb. 19, 2014) - Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation announced today that it has signed a contract with Transport for London for the provision of new trains, a depot and maintenance services for the flagship London Crossrail project. The contract is valued at approximately £1.3 billion GBP (1.6 billion euro, $2.1 billion US).

Bombardier will deliver 65 nine-car trains and construct a new purpose-built depot at Old Oak Common. The deal also includes maintenance provision for the fleet of trains. The programme is scheduled to commence on April 17, 2014.

The new trains will be built at Bombardier's Derby site and will support 840 UK manufacturing jobs including 80 apprenticeships. In addition, the project will create around 260 jobs for the construction of the new depot and approximately 80 jobs for the ongoing maintenance of the trains.

The state-of-the-art BOMBARDIER AVENTRA trains for Crossrail will be over 200 m in length and will be able to carry up to 1,500 passengers. Key features of the new high-capacity trains include air-conditioning and interconnecting walk-through carriages. On-train passenger information systems will deliver real-time travel information to allow passengers to plan their onward journeys. The AVENTRA trains have been designed with an emphasis on energy-efficiency and the use of intelligent on-train energy management systems. The trains will also incorporate technologically advanced systems for condition-based maintenance including the award-winning BOMBARDIER ORBITA predictive maintenance capability and Automated Vehicle Inspection System.

Bombardier will support the maintenance of the new fleet, based on its strong track record of supporting train operators throughout the UK at 31 sites and employing 1,800 personnel. In addition to the company's performance in delivering new trains for London's networks, including 191 air-conditioned trains currently being delivered for the London Underground sub-surface lines and new trains provided for London Overground, Bombardier's maintenance teams were recognized at the National Transport Awards 2013 for their support of the capital's train operators during the 2012 Olympics, resulting in the award of Transport Supplier of the Year.

Laurent Troger, President Region Western Europe, Middle East and Africa, Bombardier Transportation, said: "I would like to congratulate and thank the entire team in the UK for their exceptional work in designing, manufacturing and maintaining high performance trains, culminating in this richly-deserved order. We would like to take this opportunity to thank Transport for London as we jointly embark on this flagship project and look forward to working together with TfL to deliver these iconic new trains for London. As the global rail technology leader, Bombardier is at the vanguard of providing modern mobility solutions that are both economical and sustainable."

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indexes. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013, we posted revenues of $18.2 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER, AVENTRA, ORBITA and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223

John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com

Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687

Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com

Canada: +1 450 441 3007

Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com

China: +86 10 8517 2268

Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com

France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38

Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com

Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe: +49 30 98607 1134

Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com

India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093

Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com

Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714

Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com

Middle East: +44 1332 266031

Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com

Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213

Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com

South East Asia: +65 6478 6235

Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com

Southern Africa and Israel: +49 30 98607 1147

Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com

UK: +44 7971 850 606

Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk

USA: +1 450 441 3007

Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information