Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

July 03, 2015 02:00 ET

Bombardier Signs Major Rolling Stock and Maintenance Contracts for Transport for London's LOTRAIN Project

- Bombardier to deliver 180 new vehicles to Transport for London

- New 20-metre BOMBARDIER AVENTRA platform will increase passenger capacity and reduce travel time on key London Overground routes

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - July 3, 2015) - Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation has signed two contracts with Transport for London (TfL) to build and maintain 45 four-car new electric multiple units (EMUs). The first contract is a Manufacturing and Supply Agreement (MSA) covering the design, manufacture, commissioning and entry into service of 180 new vehicles, and the second is a 35-year Train Services Agreement (TSA) providing maintenance for the new vehicles.

Together the contracts are valued at approximately 358 million GBP (505 million euro, $558 million US). In addition to the base contracts, the contracts also include an option for up to 24 additional trains and another to extend the maintenance support for five-years.

Per Allmer, President, Western Europe, Middle East and Africa, Bombardier Transportation, said, "These important contracts demonstrate TfL's continued confidence in our ability to provide high quality transportation products and services. We look forward to not only delivering these new trains for TfL, but also providing ongoing maintenance and technical support."

The new trains will have similar features to the existing London Overground fleet (also manufactured by Bombardier), including walk-through carriages, air-conditioning and improved accessibility. These next-generation AVENTRA trains will feature an innovative design with optimised performance, including reduced weight, energy consumption, maintenance costs and high reliability, providing substantial benefits to both TfL and its passengers traveling on key London Overground routes, including the newly acquired West Anglia Inner Metro Service. The vehicles will be built in Derby and this new contract will help to create hundreds of job opportunities in the Midlands area as well as more than 20 apprenticeships.

Bombardier will supply a 20-metre long version of its new AVENTRA EMU platform with 31 four-car trains going into operation on West Anglia routes from London Liverpool Street to Enfield Town, Cheshunt and Chingford, and between Romford and Upminster (responsibility for which transferred to TfL in May 2015). The remaining 14 four-car trains will enter service on current London Overground routes which include Gospel Oak to Barking, due to be electrified by 2017, and Euston to Watford. The new trains are expected to enter into passenger service between December 2017 and October 2018.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy, and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment, and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's leading manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2014, we posted revenues of $20.1 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html. Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail. To receive our press releases, please visit the RSS Feed section.

BOMBARDIER, ECO 4 and The Evolution of Mobility are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries. www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2111

Loulou Hammad, loulou.hammad@au.transport.bombardier.com

Austria: +43 1 2511 0760

Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com

Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687

Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com

Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794

Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com

Canada: +1 450 441 3007

Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre.lefebvre@ca.transport.bombardier.com

China: +86 10 8517 2268

Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com

France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38

Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com

Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134

Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com

India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093

Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com

Italy: +39 34 6504 5310

Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com

Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714

Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com

Middle East: +44 1332 266031

Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com

Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213

Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com

Poland, Eastern Europe and CIS: +48 22 596 51 22

Maciej Kaczanowski, maciej.kaczanowski@pl.transport.bombardier.com

South East Asia: +65 6478 6235

Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com

Southern Africa: +33 4801 4617

Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com

United Kingdom: +44 1332 251 238

James Rollin, james.rollin@uk.transport.bombardier.com

USA: +1 450 441 3007

Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information