Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

September 22, 2014 08:43 ET

Bombardier to Supply 16 Additional Light Rail Vehicles to Manchester Metrolink in the UK

- New option order for Manchester Metrolink brings the number of vehicles to 120

- Bombardier Transportation plays a key role as Manchester continues to embrace green rail technology for urban transit

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - Sept. 22, 2014) - Bombardier Transportation, together with consortium partner Vossloh Kiepe, has signed an option to supply 16 additional *BOMBARDIER FLEXITY Swift light rail vehicles (LRVs) to Transport for Greater Manchester's (TfGM's) Metrolink system. This option forms part of the contract signed with Greater Manchester Passenger Transport Executive (GMPTE now referred to as TfGM) in 2007 and is valued at approximately £34 million GBP (43 million euro, $55 million US), with Bombardier's share valued at approximately £25 million GBP (32 million euro, $41 million US).

At 28.4 m long and 2.65 m wide, the LRVs for Greater Manchester can accommodate more than 200 passengers. Wide double-door entrances provide rapid passenger flow and multi-purpose areas accommodate pushchairs and wheelchair users. The vehicles' ease of maintenance and industry-leading reliability ensure unparalleled operational efficiency.

Bombardier's FLEXITY Swift light rail vehicles are TfGM's trams of choice for this ambitious project and are helping to relieve congestion in the Greater Manchester urban area. Since the first vehicles began operating almost five years ago, the FLEXITY Swift light rail vehicles have enjoyed great popularity with both passengers and Metrolink.

Commenting on the trams, Councillor Andrew Fender, Chair of the TfGM Committee said, "I am delighted we have been able to place this order, which will bring our fleet to 120 vehicles - a symbol of just how far our network has come since it opened in 1992 with just 26 trams. The expansion of the network has been a giant leap for Metrolink, and that leap has been matched by the far greater performance and quality of the new M5000 trams compared to the original, now-retired T68 vehicles."

Germar Wacker, President, Light Rail Vehicles, Bombardier Transportation said, "Our FLEXITY Swift light rail vehicles have proven to be a success with both the travelling public and the customer. We have an excellent relationship with Transport for Greater Manchester and are delighted to be able to further cement our partnership with this additional order."

Bombardier's FLEXITY Swift light rail vehicles operate successfully in cities around the globe. In total, Bombardier now has more than 3,500 trams and light rail vehicles in successful revenue service or on order in cities across Europe, Australia and North America.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER *ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013, we posted revenues of $18.2 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html. Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER, FLEXITY and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +49 30 98607 1147
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com
UK: +44 7971 850 606
Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information