Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

November 24, 2014 09:44 ET

Bombardier Supports the Evolution of Mobility in Asia at SmartRail

- Bombardier Transportation showcases its latest rail technology for Asia

- A total solution provider, Bombardier is well-placed for integrated rail development

- Growing hub in Bangkok reflects commitment to the region

BANGKOK, THAILAND--(Marketwired - Nov. 24, 2014) - Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation is presenting its range of total mobility solutions at SmartRail, one of Asia's leading railway trade exhibitions. As a sponsor of the event being held in Bangkok, between 26 - 28 November, Bombardier is showcasing its latest technology for the evolution of mobility across the region.

"This is an exciting time to be discussing an integrated rail network for Asia," said Gregory Enjalbert, Bombardier Transportation, Head of Rail Control Solutions Division Asia Pacific. "I fully believe that rail has a major role to play as the ASEAN community and connectivity across the whole region continues to develop. With 28 sites and expertise spanning the sector, Bombardier systems are already moving millions in cities from Delhi to Kuala Lumpur and Shanghai to Singapore, and on extensive mainline systems such as in China, India, Malaysia, Taiwan and Thailand."

Bombardier's latest rail vehicles, transit systems and signalling solutions for mainline and mass transit operations, proven for the Asia market and increasingly designed and produced in the region, will be showcased at Bombardier's stand (F1). Visitors can also attend seminars on the BOMBARDIER INTERFLO mainline and BOMBARDIER CITYFLO communications-based train control (CBTC) mass transit rail control solutions.

With trends focused on urbanisation, technology on show will include the BOMBARDIER MOVIA metro, the smart, green, high capacity urban mobility solution, as being delivered in Singapore. The turnkey BOMBARDIER INNOVIA APM automated people mover system for airports or urban transit has an unprecedented track record for reliability and availability at more than 25 locations worldwide. Total solutions extend to rail control, including the advanced CITYFLO 650 CBTC solution, in delivery or operation on over 30 lines globally, including in Bangkok.

As borders are becoming easier to cross, mainline rail is becoming increasingly important. The BOMBARDIER TRAXX DE (Diesel-Electric) locomotives for passenger or freight are well known for high reliability, excellent traction, energy efficiency and low maintenance costs. INTERFLO mainline signalling solutions for commuter, intercity and high-speed applications are spanning countries and providing interoperable solutions to cross borders. Bombardier's European Rail Traffic Management System (ERTMS) technology is in operation across the globe on approximately 24,000 km of track and on over 2,800 vehicles.

The event is also a further milestone in the development of Bombardier's presence in Thailand. Bangkok is the base for Bombardier's Asia Pacific Hub for both its Rolling Stock and Rail Control Solutions Regional Businesses. Its 17-year presence in Bangkok has secured Bombardier as a leader in high-end rail industry work in Thailand with a full commitment to developing local talent. Since 1997, the site has been developed as the Regional Centre for Signalling Engineering and since 2014 as the Asian Centre of Engineering (ACE) for Rolling Stock.

Today the growing base employs a team of over 450 employees, delivering rail projects for Thailand, Asia and worldwide. Its signalling team is the global engineering lead for two major product lines, the CITYFLO 450 and CITYFLO 650 CBTC solutions. The ACE setup is boosting Bombardier's position to capture the growing opportunities in Asia Pacific and is strengthening the foundation for longer-term partnership with customers and business partners in the Region.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013, we posted revenues of $18.2 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER, MOVIA, INNOVIA, CITYFLO, TRAXX, INTERFLO are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2111
Loulou Hammad, loulou.hammad@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +33 4801 4617
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com
UK: +44 7971 850 606
Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information