Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

October 31, 2014 10:04 ET

Bombardier Technology Enters Service in CSR Puzhen's Low-Floor Trams for Suzhou, China

- CSR Puzhen holds a license to produce tramway vehicles based on proven BOMBARDIER FLEXITY 2 technology

- Successful cooperation between Canadian and Chinese companies

SUZHOU, CHINA--(Marketwired - Oct. 31, 2014) -

Editors' Note: There is a photo associated with this press release.

Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation and its Joint Venture Partner BCP, working in close partnership with CSR Puzhen, are proud to announce that trams equipped with Bombardier technology have entered revenue service in Suzhou, China. These vehicles are produced by CSR Nanjing Puzhen Co., Ltd. (CSR Puzhen) under a technology license agreement concluded in July 2012 together with Bombardier Transportation. The order for 18 low-floor, five-module trams was awarded to CSR Puzhen in December 2012.

The 100% low-floor tramway trains are 32 meters long and 2.65 meters wide, corresponding with the Chinese customers' demand for high passenger capacity. Their design, based on Bombardier's FLEXITY 2 product platform, represents the leading-edge in passenger safety, comfort, and convenience, especially when entering and exiting the vehicle. In addition, the tram's low energy consumption substantially contributes to the delivery of more environmentally friendly modes of transportation for the urban public.

The vehicles feature BOMBARDIER FLEXX Urban 300 bogies and are propelled by BOMBARDIER MITRAC traction technology. In addition to the Suzhou vehicles, CSR Puzhen has also won projects in its hometown Nanjing. Two lines in Nanjing have recently been equipped with catenary-free operation technology based on BOMBARDIER PRIMOVE heavy-duty traction batteries. Furthermore, CSR Puzhen is the rolling stock supplier for Suzhou's metro network.

Delivering this propulsion equipment to its Chinese partners is just another example of Bombardier's ability to meet the needs of the world market. Complex projects like these further illustrate Bombardier's position as a strong global partner and its ability to provide competitive solutions that match varied market requirements.

Mr. Zhang Jianwei, President of Bombardier China, commenting on the event, said, "I think both CSR Puzhen and Bombardier have reason to be proud of this important achievement in their cooperation and I am confident that the people and visitors of Suzhou city will soon be convinced of the speed and comfort this modern transit system offers. This is yet another reference of Bombardier's consistent engagement and close partnerships with forerunners in China's aerospace and railway industries."

With a population of nearly 11 million, the city of Suzhou is located next to the Shanghai municipality in the southeast of China's Jiangsu province. Suzhou New District (SND) Tram Co., Ltd. will operate the trams in one of Suzhou's satellite districts that incorporates a large high-tech industrial park.

Worldwide, Bombardier has sold more than 1,200 units of its FLEXITY type 100 per cent low-floor tramway vehicles. Some 3,500 Bombardier trams and light rail vehicles are in revenue service, or on order, in approximately 100 cities across Europe, Asia, Australia and North America.

In order to sustain global economic growth while ensuring urban dwellers' health and quality of life, cities all over the world are looking for smarter forms of mass transit. Considered one of the most environmentally friendly and energy efficient modes of public transport available, trams and light rail vehicles consume up to five times less energy per passenger than a car carrying one or two passengers.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013, we posted revenues of $18.2 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER, FLEXITY, FLEXX, MITRAC, PRIMOVE and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

To view the photo associated with this press release, please visit the following link: http://www.marketwire.com/library/20141031-976354_800.jpg

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +33 4801 4617
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com
UK: +44 7971 850 606
Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information