Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

March 13, 2015 08:36 ET

Bombardier and Thales Win Latest Rail Control Contract for the Mediterranean Corridor in Spain

- European Train Control System (ETCS) Level 1 chosen for Valencia to Vandellos section

MADRID, SPAIN--(Marketwired - March 13, 2015) - A Bombardier and Thales consortium has won a contract to deliver the European Train Control System (ETCS) Level 1 for the 210 km Valencia to Vandellós section of the Mediterranean Corridor. The new order, awarded by Spain's Administrator of Railway Infrastructure for high-speed, ADIF Alta Velocidad, has a total value of approximately 29.6 million euro ($31.4 million US) with Bombardier's share valued at approximately 11.5 million euro ($12.3 million US).1

The corridor upgrade project includes multiple components. The globally proven BOMBARDIER INTERFLO 250 ERTMS Level 1 solution has been chosen for the 60 km Valencia Nord to Burriana section. Thales will install its European Rail Traffic management System (ERTMS) Level 1 solution AlTrac on the 150 km Villareal to Vandellós section of the line, and its ERTMS Central Post solution on the whole section. Both solutions equally meet the requirements for technical interoperability needed for operation on the trans-European rail network, which includes the Mediterranean Corridor. Also, the project includes the adaptation of signalling installations (electronic interlockings) for integration with the new ERTMS and laying cables for new ERTMS equipment to interface with Adif's communication network.

Jesús Sánchez Bargos, Country Director for Thales in Spain, said, "This award will not only allow us to once again deploy our proven and tested ERTMS; jointly with Bombardier we will carry out a project in which we are fully familiar with the customer's needs. We have demonstrated our ability to meet the targets on time and in form and, above all, our competence in transforming our technological advances into practical and tangible applications for people."

Peter Cedervall, President of Division Rail Control Solutions, Bombardier Transportation, said, "As a third contract for Bombardier on the Mediterranean Corridor, this new order consolidates Bombardier's presence in the Spanish market. This award reflects the trust the customer places in our technology, project delivery, and experience in the Spanish market, bringing the latest technology for the rail industry."

Thales and Bombardier's contribution to the overall project on the Mediterranean Corridor will advance the modernisation of the line's different high-speed, conventional, and freight railway applications as well as other lines running parallel to the coast. This will improve existing infrastructures and support Spain's economic development. The importance of the Mediterranean arc in economic development is crucial given that 50% of Spain's industrial production, 60% of exports to Europe and 65% of port throughput is concentrated in the coastal strip between Catalonia and Algeciras.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy, and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's largest manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable, and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2014, we posted revenues of $20.1 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html. Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail. To receive our press releases, please visit the RSS Feed section.

BOMBARDIER, INTERFLO, ECO 4 and The Evolution of Mobility are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

1 The BT share in the consortium, without VAT, is approximately 9.5 million Euros ($10.1 million).

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2111
Loulou Hammad, loulou.hammad@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
Poland, Eastern Europe and CIS: +48 22 596 51 22
Maciej Kaczanowski, maciej.kaczanowski@pl.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +33 4801 4617
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com
United Kingdom: +44 1332 251 238
James Rollin, james.rollin@uk.transport.bombardier.com
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information