Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

March 06, 2015 08:21 ET

Bombardier to Showcase Latest Metro Technologies at MetroRail 2015

Metro and life cycle cost technology on display at 10th-annual light rail, metro and mainline forum

LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM--(Marketwired - March 6, 2015) - Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation will be showcasing its latest metro platforms and rail innovations at the MetroRail 2015 conference and exhibition taking place in London on March 10 and 11.

As cities expand, so does the demand for efficient and comfortable high capacity mass transport. Ready to meet these challenges, are Bombardier's latest metro, light rail and lifecycle cost innovations.

At MetroRail 2015, Bombardier will highlight its globally leading metro technology that can be tailored to suit local conditions and operator requirements. With a wide range of dimensions and configurations, mobility solutions like these enable operators to lower costs while taking the lead in providing their cities with sustainable solutions for mass public transit.

One such example is the new sub-surface line fleet that Bombardier is currently delivering for London's Underground. They are the first trains on the network to feature air-conditioning and walk-through gangways and are winner of the 2015 London Transport Awards in the category of 'Excellence in Technology.'

Bombardier will also demonstrate the BOMBARDIER MITRAC Life Cycle Cost Configurator at the event. Based on simulations, this technical tool shows operators precisely how different configurations and propulsion equipment criteria influence the overall efficiency and cost-effect of their vehicles.

On March 10, at 11:50, Bombardier, together with industry partner Network Rail, will host a round table discussion on eco-friendly, battery-powered train technology. Also on the conference's opening day, Bombardier's Magnus Forsen will speak about the influence of optimized propulsion equipment and its advantages in calculating life cycle costs. Gerald Newesely will present the latest technology for creating the trams of tomorrow and Thomas Siegemund will highlight the evolution and future of metro technology. On March 11, Anders Blomberg will present a case study on the Stockholm Metro, examining technology trends in energy efficient solutions.

Visitors as well as industry friends old and new are invited to meet the Bombardier Team on stand 15 at the MetroRail conference and exhibition, taking place at Olympia West in London, on March 10 and 11.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's largest manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable, and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2014, we posted revenues of $20.1 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html. Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail. To receive our press releases, please visit the RSS Feed section.

BOMBARDIER, MITRAC and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2111
Loulou Hammad, loulou.hammad@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
Poland, Eastern Europe and CIS: +48 22 596 51 22
Maciej Kaczanowski, maciej.kaczanowski@pl.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +33 4801 4617
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com
United Kingdom: +44 1332 251 238
James Rollin, james.rollin@uk.transport.bombardier.com
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information