Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

March 02, 2015 12:41 ET

Bombardier Transportation Celebrates Success at Rail Business Awards

LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM--(Marketwired - March 2, 2015) - Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation is celebrating its success at the prestigious Rail Business Awards, which were held in London on February 26. Senior representatives from all sectors of the UK rail industry attended the event where Bombardier and its project partners won three awards.

Lewis Slack, Fabrication Shop Team Leader at Bombardier Transportation's BTRoS subsidiary, won the Rail Engineer of the Future award. This award, sponsored by Electromotive Diesel, seeks to recognise young rail engineering talent. Following a rigorous interview process, Mr. Slack, was given this award due to the clear initiative he has shown throughout his career development. This included completing a welding and fabrication apprenticeship, participating in a work exchange program in Germany, as well as earning a subsidiary diploma.

Bombardier and engineering consultancy Frazer-Nash won the award for Technological Innovation for their joint work on the Train Zero project at Bombardier's Derby plant. Train Zero is a state-of-the-art system integration facility that provides Bombardier with the capability to test and refine new rolling stock much earlier in the design process than was previously possible.

Richard Jones, Rail Business Manager at Frazer-Nash Consultancy said, "Our collaboration with Bombardier on this project has drawn on our knowledge of current best practice cross-industry and Bombardier's unrivalled experience of building great trains. We are delighted that the rail industry has recognised the value of the project, which is also set to act as a catalyst for further innovation by Bombardier's engineers and suppliers to collaborate on the integration of train systems at an early stage. That's something we hope to develop in the future"

Bombardier Transportation was also mentioned in the Rolling Stock Excellence award, sponsored by Wabtec. This award recognised the London Underground's successful upgrade project. The BOMBARDIER MOVIA metro was a key component of this sub-surface upgrade, which improved service and performance on the Circle, District, Hammersmith & City and Metropolitan lines.

David Waboso, Capital Programmes Director at London Underground, said, "Our new trains, built by Bombardier in Derby and creating thousands of jobs in the UK, have proved an instant hit with our customers and it's not hard to see why. These comfortable, spacious, accessible, air-conditioned trains will be serving 40 per cent of the Tube network by the end of next year and are a major factor in making the sub-surface Tube lines fit for the demands of the future. I'm hugely pleased that we have been recognised by the Rail Business Awards for this world-class new rolling stock."

Noel Travers, Bombardier Transportation's UK Managing Director said, "It's great to see Bombardier and its staff highlighted at the Rail Business Awards. These awards are not only a reflection of Bombardier's culture of innovation but also a testament to our commitment to delivering the next generation of rail technology."

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy, and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's largest manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable, and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2014, we posted revenues of $20.1 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html. Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail. To receive our press releases, please visit the RSS Feed section.

BOMBARDIER, MOVIA, ECO4 and The Evolution of Mobility are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2111
Loulou Hammad, loulou.hammad@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
Poland, Eastern Europe and CIS: +48 22 596 51 22
Maciej Kaczanowski, maciej.kaczanowski@pl.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +33 4801 4617
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com
United Kingdom: +44 1332 251 238
James Rollin, james.rollin@uk.transport.bombardier.com
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information