Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

March 05, 2015 07:30 ET

Bombardier Transportation in Cooperation with Stockholm Traffic Administration Unveils Design for the City's New Metro Fleet

- BOMBARDIER C30 MOVIA metro provides fast-growing Stockholm with major capacity boost

- Striking design invokes Swedish tradition of openness and light

STOCKHOLM, SWEDEN--(Marketwired - March 5, 2015) -

Editors note: There is one photo associated with this press release.

Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation and the Stockholm Traffic Administration presented the design of the new C30 MOVIA metro for the Swedish capital's Red Line today at EurasiaRail 2015 in Istanbul, Turkey.

As one of Europe's most rapidly growing cities, Stockholm is investing heavily in sustainable transport. The Red Line upgrade is a key project and from the outset, the C30 MOVIA has been designed to sharply increase Stockholm's transport capacity and comfort. Compared to the previous generation, also designed by Bombardier, the new metro features additional bi-parting doors for faster entry and exit and a mixed, four-by-four seating configuration with additional seats along the vehicle's sides to optimise comfort, capacity and passenger flow.

The new design also reflects extensive dialogue with representatives of various interest groups. The number of designated priority zones has been increased to eight, ensuring ample room for persons with reduced mobility as well as providing extra room for those travelling with wheelchairs, baby carriages or extra-large luggage.

Based on Stockholm's fundamental architectural and design characteristics of openness, modernity and diversity, the metro's exterior also creates a timeless but modern impression. Its design language is based upon the "Open City" vision and its derived concept "New Minimalism" expresses pride, strength and motion. The interior layout has spacious gangways and features an innovative use of indirect light to create an open and bright environment.

Speaking of the new metro, Klas Wåhlberg, Managing Director of Bombardier Transportation in Sweden said, "When public transport is attractive, sustainable travel will increase. With this metro design, Stockholm has taken this motto to an entirely new level to the benefit of both commuters and the city as a whole for many years to come."

Bombardier was selected in 2013 to provide Stockholm with 96 MOVIA metro vehicles with an option for up to 80 addition vehicles. The four-car vehicles, fitted with a driver's cab at each end, are also equipped with an advanced driverless functionality. The air-conditioned C30 MOVIA metros also feature an advanced passenger information system and fulfill the highest environmental standards regarding energy consumption and choice of materials, which are 98% recyclable. Energy-efficient BOMBARDIER FLEXX Eco bogies and the well-proven BOMBARDIER MITRAC propulsion system reduce maintenance costs and contribute to passenger comfort with minimal energy consumption and low noise.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's largest manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable, and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2014, we posted revenues of $20.1 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html. Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail. To receive our press releases, please visit the RSS Feed section.

BOMBARDIER, MOVIA, FLEXX, MITRAC, ECO4 and The Evolution of Mobility are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

To view the photo associated with this press release, please visit the following link: http://media3.marketwire.com/docs/Bombardier_Transportation_MOVIA_C30_Morby.jpg

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2111
Loulou Hammad, loulou.hammad@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
Poland, Eastern Europe and CIS: +48 22 596 51 22
Maciej Kaczanowski, maciej.kaczanowski@pl.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +33 4801 4617
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com
United Kingdom: +44 1332 251 238
James Rollin, james.rollin@uk.transport.bombardier.com
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information