Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

March 19, 2015 06:20 ET

Bombardier Transportation Wins Orders to Supply Light Rail Vehicles to the Cities of Dusseldorf and Cologne

- Bombardier Transportation to deliver 62 BOMBARDIER FLEXITY light rail vehicles to the Rhineland region

- Over 550 vehicles of this type already sold worldwide

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - March 19, 2015) -

Editors note: There are two photos associated with this press release.

Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation, has signed contracts with both the Düsseldorf (Rheinbahn AG) and Cologne transport authorities (KVB) for the delivery of 62 FLEXITY light rail vehicles in total. The contract with KVB is for 20 vehicles and is valued at approximately 64 million euro (68 million US). Rheinbahn AG's contract for 42 vehicles, with an option for 16 additional vehicles, is valued at approximately 127 million euro (135 million US).

The light rail vehicles to be built for Düsseldorf and Cologne, will replace the region's existing fleet of Stadtbahnwagen Bs and be manufactured at Bombardier sites in Germany. Düsseldorf's vehicles are scheduled to be delivered between 2017 and 2020, while those for Cologne are scheduled for delivery between 2020 to 2021.

Dirk Biesenbach, CEO of Rheinbahn AG said, "We are delighted that we have managed to carry out this tender in cooperation with the Cologne Transport Authority. Together we are acquiring modern and attractive vehicles for Düsseldorf and Cologne."

Jörn Schwarze, CTO, KVB added, "The contract has been awarded based on the most economical offer. Particularly worth mentioning are the low lifecycle costs and easy maintainability. We are convinced to have chosen the most cost efficient and cost effective solution."

The FLEXITY light rail vehicles are 28 meters long, feature generous passageways, and spacious multi-purpose areas. To date, more than 550 FLEXITY light rail vehicles of this particular type have been sold and this innovative vehicle is already in revenue service in Bursa Turkey, the German cities Cologne and Frankfurt as well as in Manchester, UK.

Worldwide, Bombardier now has more than 4,000 trams and light rail vehicles in successful revenue service, or on order.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy, and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's largest manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable, and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2014, we posted revenues of $20.1 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html. Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail. To receive our press releases, please visit the RSS Feed section.

BOMBARDIER, FLEXITY, ECO4 and The Evolution of Mobility are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

To view the photos associated with this press release, please visit the following links:

http://media3.marketwire.com/docs/997684_Bombardier_Transportation_Dusseldorf_FLEXITY_Orig.jpg

http://media3.marketwire.com/docs/997684_Bombardier_Transportation_Koln-FLEXITY_Orig.jpg

FOR INFORMATION
Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2111
Loulou Hammad, loulou.hammad@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
Poland, Eastern Europe and CIS: +48 22 596 51 22
Maciej Kaczanowski, maciej.kaczanowski@pl.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +33 4801 4617
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com
United Kingdom: +44 1332 251 238
James Rollin, james.rollin@uk.transport.bombardier.com
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information