Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

December 16, 2014 07:39 ET

Bombardier Wins 10-Year Fleet Maintenance Contract with Trenitalia

- The 154 million euro contract covers maintenance for 50 new V300ZEFIRO high speed trains

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - Dec. 16, 2014) -

Editors' Note: There is a photo associated with this press release.

Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation has won a 10-year contract to maintain Trenitalia's fleet of 50 V300ZEFIRO very high speed trains, known in Italy as the Frecciarossa 1000. One of the most important fleet maintenance contracts awarded in Italy in recent years, the contract will be executed in association with Bombardier's consortium partner AnsaldoBreda, an Italian rail transport engineering firm. Bombardier Transportation's share of the contract is valued at approximately 154 million euro ($191 million US).

Jean Baptiste Eymeoud, Head of Services Execution, Bombardier Transportation, Western Europe, Middle East, Africa (WMA) said, "Our target is to optimise the availability and reliability of the new vehicles with the adequate preventive and corrective maintenance program once the vehicles enter revenue service by mid-2015. This contract and its duration represent a great achievement for the Frecciarossa 1000 and will reinforce Bombardier's long-term commitment to Italy." Bombardier's services execution team in Italy is already responsible for the maintenance of more than 200 vehicles in the country.

Manufactured in partnership with AnsaldoBreda, the Frecciarossa 1000 is the newest member of the BOMBARDIER ZEFIRO family of high-speed trains. With a top commercial speed of up to 360 km/h, the V300ZEFIRO is the fastest train in Europe and its advanced, high acceleration delivers excellent travel times, even on winding routes. It is also fully interoperable, meaning passengers can cross European borders without having to change trains. The V300ZEFIRO can also be adapted for use on networks in many other non-European countries.

Bombardier is a leading rolling stock manufacturer in Italy and is involved in many of the country's most important rail projects. These include Trenitalia's various electric locomotives such as the E464, the ETR500/FRECCIAROSSA high speed trains, the BOMBARDIER INNOVIA automated people mover 100 for Rome-Fiumicino airport, the BOMBARDIER FLEXITY trams for Milan and Palermo, propulsion systems for Rome's new metro vehicles, and the traffic management systems installed in various sections of Italy's rail network.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013, we posted revenues of $18.2 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER, ZEFIRO, FLEXITY, INNOVIA and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

To view the photo associated with this press release, please visit the following link: http://www.marketwire.com/library/20141216-984263_800.jpg

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2111
Loulou Hammad, loulou.hammad@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +33 4801 4617
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com
UK: +44 7971 850 606
Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information