BOMBARDIER TRANSPORTATION
TSX : BBD.A
TSX : BBD.B
OTCQX : BDRBF

BOMBARDIER TRANSPORTATION

June 04, 2015 09:00 ET

Bombardier Wins Contract to Manufacture and Maintain up to 156 Trams for Vienna, Austria

- Bombardier Transportation receives firm order for 119 BOMBARDIER FLEXITY trams from Vienna Transport Authority Wiener Linien

- Contract includes 24-year FlexCare maintenance management system agreement and options for further trams and maintenance

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - June 4, 2015) -

Editor's note: There is one photo associated with this press release.

Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation and the Vienna transport authority, Wiener Linien, have signed a contract for the manufacture of 119 FLEXITY Vienna trams, which includes a 24-year FlexCare maintenance management system agreement. The contract is valued at approximately 431 million euro ($480 million US) and includes an option for an additional 37 trams and further maintenance support. The vehicles will be manufactured at Bombardier's Vienna site.

Günter Steinbauer, CEO, Wiener Linien, said, "We wanted a vehicle that is modern, comfortable and environmentally-friendly, that fits the existing infrastructure and offers good value for money."

Carsten Bopp, Head of Light Rail Vehicles, Bombardier Transportation Austria said, "We are delighted that Wiener Linien has opted for our FLEXITY trams and the FlexCare maintenance management system. Our employees at the Vienna site are particularly proud that Bombardier trams will operate in their hometown. We would like to thank Wiener Linien for their trust and for giving us the opportunity to play a part in shaping the cityscape of Vienna."

The 34-meter long FLEXITY Vienna trams accommodate 211 passengers, feature wide passage ways, spacious multipurpose areas and low entrances, setting new standards for passenger comfort. The combination of internationally proven low-floor technologies and BOMBARDIER FLEXX Urban bogies also guarantees a smooth ride. Furthermore, due to the use of well-proven BOMBARDIER MITRAC propulsion equipment, the FLEXITY trams also distinguish themselves with an availability rating of over 95 percent.

The trams will be supported by FlexCare, Bombardier's innovative maintenance management system.
Easily integrated into existing maintenance processes, FlexCare enables customers to perform maintenance at their own depots under the overall maintenance management responsibility of Bombardier. This system guarantees high availability and reliability for the vehicles and offers customers planning reliability and cost certainty over the contract period.

More than 1,300 FLEXITY 100% low-floor trams have been sold to date. Overall, Bombardier now has more than 4,000 trams and light rail vehicles in successful revenue service or on order in cities across Europe, Asia, Australia and North America.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy, and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment, and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's leading manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2014, we posted revenues of $20.1 billion. News and information are available at www.bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html. Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail. To receive our press releases, please visit the RSS Feed section.

BOMBARDIER, ECO 4, MITRAC, FLEX, FLEXITY, FLexCare and The Evolution of Mobility are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries. www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

To view the photo associated with this press release, please visit the following link: http://www.marketwire.com/library/20150604-FLEXITY800.jpg

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2111
Loulou Hammad, loulou.hammad@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre.lefebvre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel:
+49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
Poland, Eastern Europe and CIS: +48 22 596 51 22
Maciej Kaczanowski, maciej.kaczanowski@pl.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +33 4801 4617
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com
United Kingdom: +44 1332 251 238
James Rollin, james.rollin@uk.transport.bombardier.com
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information