Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

October 08, 2014 08:40 ET

Bombardier Wins First Rail Control Contract in Ethiopia

- Bombardier to deliver rail signalling solution for new 400 km line Awash-Weldia Line

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - Oct. 8, 2014) - Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation has won a contract to deliver the mainline signalling solution for Ethiopia's new 400 km Awash-Weldia line. The order awarded by Turkish construction company Yapi Merkezi, which is delivering the design and construction of the project, has a value of approximately 36 million euro (45 million USD).

Part of an investment programme by Ethiopian Railways to extend the country's rail network, the new link is to be equipped with the proven BOMBARDIER* INTERFLO* 250 solution. The system will be based on the European Rail Traffic Management System (ERTMS), a global, standardised and state-of-the-art signalling system that will ensure the new railway's high utilisation and interoperability with other lines and new vehicles.

Erdem Arioglu, Board Member of Yapi Merkezi, stated, "This is one of the longest lines tendered as a turn-key project in Sub-Saharan Africa. Yapi Merkezi went through a very detailed selection process to determine its suppliers and sub-contractors and Bombardier was selected due to its proven track record and its successful, long-term cooperation with Yapi Merkezi on similar projects worldwide."

Peter Cedervall, President, Division Rail Control Solutions, Bombardier Transportation, said, "Bombardier is proud to be selected to supply the signalling technology for this important part of the Ethiopian infrastructure investment programme. We are happy to once again work with our esteemed partner Yapi Merkezi and further strengthen our relations with the Ethiopian railway industry."

Bombardier's advanced rail control solutions have already been selected across Africa. This includes for the Gautrain Rapid Rail Link and Durban's Main Corridors in South Africa. In addition, the latest solutions were recently chosen for Zambia's north - south connection between Livingstone and Chingola and for the upgrade of Morocco's Casablanca to Tangiers line. Bombardier is also providing Algeria with its first ERTMS and advanced interlocking technology.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4* technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013, we posted revenues of $18.2 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER, INTERFLO and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +49 30 98607 1147
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com
UK: +44 7971 850 606
Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information