BOMBARDIER TRANSPORTATION

TSX : BBD.A
TSX : BBD.B


BOMBARDIER TRANSPORTATION

December 11, 2012 04:23 ET

Bombardier Wins Fleet Maintenance Contract with Virgin Trains

- C. £100 million deal to service Super Voyager fleet until March 2016

LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM--(Marketwire - Dec. 11, 2012) - Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation has signed a contract with Virgin Trains to continue maintaining its Super Voyager fleet that operates on the UK's West Coast main line. The deal extends the existing agreement between Bombardier and Virgin to March 2016. The contract is valued at approximately £106 million GBP (131 million euro, $170 million US).

Bombardier will maintain the trains at its Central Rivers depot in Burton on Trent, Staffordshire, which employs 360 people, and at other outstations across the network, 24 hours per day, 365 days per year.

Tony Collins, Chief Executive of Virgin Trains said: "Virgin Trains are delighted to extend our service agreement with Bombardier Transportation, building on the strong relationship we have developed over the last 13 years. The Voyagers are a key part of the West Coast Fleet and we look forward to working with Bombardier to continue to deliver a reliable and punctual service to all of our customers."

Bombardier Transportation helps its customers minimize operational costs and maximize revenue generation over their assets' whole lifetime, while ensuring the highest levels of passenger safety, dependability and comfort. It offers services and support to fit each customer's exact requirements, including complete maintenance services, full train maintenance, materials and logistics programs, modernisation, re-engineering and overhaul of vehicles and components.

"Winning this contract allows us to continue our strong relationship with Virgin, which has been in place since 1998. It demonstrates Virgin's trust in Bombardier to continue delivering an excellent and cost-effective service," said Paul Roberts, Chief Country Representative of Bombardier Transportation, UK.

Bombardier is the market leader in manufacturing and services in the UK, with a sustained track record of offering reliable services. The company proved its expertise during the 2012 Summer Olympics, when maintenance teams and support functions worked around the clock to ensure that more than 800 Bombardier trains on nine key routes serving London achieved 99.9 per cent availability to meet the increased demand. BOMBARDIER ORBITA real-time data gathering and diagnostic technology actively monitored the fleets to identify any maintenance issues before they affected passenger services, while the train depots provided round-the-clock updates on fleet availability and highlighted where support was required.

About Bombardier Transportation in the UK

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. With over 3,200 people employed at eight Bombardier sites and 31 customer locations across the UK, Bombardier has delivered, or has on order, more than 60 per cent of the UK's existing fleet and currently maintains around 40 per cent of the UK's rolling stock. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America indexes. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011, we posted revenues of $18.3 billion USD. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/transportation/media-centre.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER and ORBITA are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

Super Voyager is a trademark of a third party.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223

John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com

Benelux, Middle East and North Africa: +49 30 98607 1141

Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com

Canada: +1 450 441 3007

Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com

China: +86 10 8517 2268

Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com

France: +33 6 07 78 95 38

Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com

Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe: +49 30 98607 1134

Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com

India: +91 7 838 660 093

Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com

Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714

Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com

Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213

Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com

South East Asia: +65 6478 6235

Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com

Southern Africa: +49 30 98607 1147

Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com

Southern Europe and South America: +35 1 919 693 728

Luis Ramos, luis.ramos@pt.transport.bombardier.com

UK and Ireland: +44 7785 450 065

Stephen Bethel, stephen.bethel@uk.transport.bombardier.com

USA: +1 450 441 3007

Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information