Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

June 20, 2014 04:46 ET

Bombardier Wins Fleet Maintenance Contract with Virgin Trains for West Coast Franchise

Contract builds on successful relationship with Virgin to extend maintenance of Voyager fleet operating on West Coast to March 2019

LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM--(Marketwired - June 20, 2014) - Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation has signed a contract with Virgin Trains to extend the provision of maintenance of its Super Voyager fleet operating on the UK's West Coast main line to March 2019. The contract is valued at approximately £103 million GBP
(129 million euro, $175 million US).

Following the decision by the Department for Transport in the UK to extend the agreement with Virgin Trains for their operation of the West Coast franchise, Bombardier has signed a contract with Virgin to provide the ongoing maintenance of its Voyager fleet until 2019.

The 20 Bombardier Super Voyager trains form an integral part of Virgin's West Coast fleet. Bombardier currently maintains the fleet from its dedicated Central Rivers depot in Burton on Trent, Staffordshire, which employs approximately 340 people, as well as other outstations across the network. Under the train service agreement signed with Virgin, Bombardier supports the fleet on a 24 hours per day, 365 days per year basis.

In addition to its renowned new-build train manufacturing factory based in Derby, Bombardier Transportation has around 1,600 service employees based at 23 customer locations and sites around the UK. They are involved in supporting train operators across the country in delivering maintenance and upgrades which ensure optimum reliability, efficiency, and longevity for their fleets.

Peter Broadley, Commercial Operations Director, Virgin Trains, said: "We are delighted to be extending our partnership with Bombardier, enabling the continuation of many years of successful fleet performance. Clean, reliable and comfortable trains are crucial to delivering the amazing experience our customers expect and Bombardier are critical suppliers in delivering this. We look forward to working with Bombardier to continue to grow passenger numbers and customer satisfaction over the coming years on the West Coast."

Des McKeon, Commercial Director UK, Bombardier Transportation, added: "The further extension of this key contract endorses yet again the strong relationship that we have built with our customer, Virgin Trains. By the end of this extension we will have been successfully maintaining their trains for nearly 20 years, delivering excellent performance of the Voyager fleet on the prestigious West Coast route."

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013, we posted revenues of $18.2 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland,
Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +49 30 98607 1147
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com
UK: +44 7971 850 606
Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information