Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

September 24, 2015 09:29 ET

Bombardier Wins Maintenance Services Support Contract Extension from East Midlands Trains

- Maintenance and Services contract extended for three years

- Original maintenance contract with East Midlands Trains signed in 2007

LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM--(Marketwired - Sept. 24, 2015) - Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation has signed an extension to its current Technical Service Agreement (TSA) with East Midlands Trains (EMT), extending service until March 2018. The contract covers ongoing maintenance services support for EMT's fleet of Meridian diesel-electric multiple units (DEMUs); it also includes an option for another further extension to March 2019.

Tim Sayer, Fleet Director said: "It's great news for passengers that our franchise will continue until at least March 2018, and we've got lots of plans to improve our services. We're looking forward to continuing to work with Bombardier over the coming years to ensure our Meridian trains offer a reliable and enjoyable travelling experience for our passengers".

Hugh Heath, Head of Project Management for UK Fleet Contracts, Bombardier Transportation said, "We're honoured that our industry partners East Midlands Trains chose Bombardier for the continued provision of maintenance services. We've worked hard to enhance safety, reliability and availability of the Meridian fleet, including targeted attention to improve the customer environment and increase capacity. We look forward to continuing those improvements in the future through our ongoing collaborative relationship with EMT".

Operated on Sheffield to London St Pancras services via Derby and Nottingham, Bombardier has been maintaining the 125 mph Class 222 Meridian DEMUs - which were manufactured by Bombardier during 2002 - 2005. Since 2007 the TSA contract encompasses 27 train sets (143 vehicles), with a requirement for 24 train sets to be available daily. The fleet's main depot is Etches Park in Derby, with stabling at Cricklewood, North London.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy, and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment, and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's leading manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2014, we posted revenues of $20.1 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html. Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail. To receive our press releases, please visit the RSS Feed section

BOMBARDIER, ECO 4 and The Evolution of Mobility are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries. www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2111
Loulou Hammad, loulou.hammad@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre.lefebvre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
Poland, Eastern Europe and CIS: +48 22 596 51 22
Maciej Kaczanowski, maciej.kaczanowski@pl.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +33 4801 4617
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@rail.bombardier.com
United Kingdom: +44 1332 251 238
James Rollin, james.rollin@uk.transport.bombardier.com
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information