BOMBARDIER TRANSPORTATION
TSX : BBD.A
TSX : BBD.B

BOMBARDIER TRANSPORTATION

December 21, 2012 06:47 ET

Bombardier Wins Order for 40 ELECTROSTAR Cars from Southern

LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM--(Marketwire - Dec. 21, 2012) - Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation announced today that it has secured an order from Southern and Porterbrook Leasing for 40 BOMBARDIER ELECTROSTAR cars that will operate on services in London and the South East. The order is valued at approximately £60 million GBP (74 million euro, $98 million US) and is an option which has been exercised under an existing contract dated December 2011, when Bombardier received an order for 130 new ELECTROSTARs from Southern. These trains are currently in production at Bombardier's Derby factory in the UK.

Southern's Managing Director, Chris Burchell, said: "This good news is timely as the first carriage of the original 130 ordered is close to completion. These additional 40 carriages will provide much needed capacity on some of our busiest routes."

"We welcome this opportunity to support Southern and the Department for Transport by providing additional trains. Less than one year since the original order, trains are starting to come off the production line in Derby and passengers in London and the South East will soon see the benefit with increased capacity and improved comfort and service," said Paul Roberts, Chief Country Representative of Bombardier Transportation in the UK. "Passengers today expect convenient and flexible travel options - by meeting these expectations, we can encourage more people to demand a shift from the historic dependence on individual car use to fast and efficient modern public transit."

The ELECTROSTAR train has a well proven track record for reliability and environmental performance and is in service with a number of train operators in the UK including c2c, Southeastern and Southern. More recently, ELECTROSTAR trains have also been purchased by Transport for London to provide the London Overground services on the East London Line and North London Line, and by National Express East Anglia to provide services to and from Stansted Airport. The Gautrain railway in Johannesburg, South Africa, also operates ELECTROSTAR trains.

About Bombardier Transportation in the UK

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. With over 3,200 people employed at eight Bombardier sites and 31 customer locations across the UK, Bombardier has delivered, or has on order, more than 60 per cent of the UK's existing fleet and currently maintains around 40 per cent of the UK's rolling stock. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America indexes. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011, we posted revenues of $18.3 billion USD. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/transportation/media-centre.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER and ELECTROSTAR are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux, Middle East and North Africa: +49 30 98607 1141
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +49 30 98607 1147
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Europe and South America: +35 1 919 693 728
Luis Ramos, luis.ramos@pt.transport.bombardier.com
UK and Ireland: +44 7785 450 065
Stephen Bethel, stephen.bethel@uk.transport.bombardier.com
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information