Bombardier Transportation

TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF


Bombardier Transportation

May 13, 2014 11:48 ET

Bombardier Wins Order for the Heavy Overhaul of 20 Trams of De Lijn in Belgium

The structural revision will extend the lifetime of the vehicles by up to 10 years

BRUGES, BELGIUM--(Marketwired - May 13, 2014) -

Editors Note: There are 3 photos associated with this Press Release

Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation has won an order from the Flemish Transport operator De Lijn for the heavy overhaul of 20 trams used on the coastal line. The order is valued at approximately 6 million euro ($9 million US).

De Lijn has been using these trams for more than 30 years and has decided to extend their lifetime by another 10 years through this structural revision. The work will be carried out by Bombardier at its Bruges site.

The trams were originally produced in Bruges at the beginning of the 1980s. Renovation and maintenance work has continued to take place at the site. Between 2001 and 2003, the teams in Bruges equipped the two-car trams with an additional middle car, which not only increased the vehicles' capacity, but also made them more accessible thanks to the low floor entrance of each middle car.

During the overhaul, Bombardier will focus on the exterior of the trams, revamping components including the windows, roofs, doors and doorsteps. In addition, crucial technical components, such as battery cabinets, ventilation systems, steering electronics and pneumatic cabinets will be modified or renewed. The first renovated tram will return into service on the coastal line in January 2015. Bombardier's teams have years of experience in overhauling and renovating trams. In the last two years, Bombardier has been awarded renovation contracts for 24 trams in Lille and 38 in Grenoble, France.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013, we posted revenues of $18.2 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

To view the photos associated with this press release, please visit the following links:

- http://file.marketwire.com/release/bbdt01.jpg

- http://file.marketwire.com/release/bbdt02.jpg

- http://file.marketwire.com/release/bbdt03.jpg

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Canada:+1 450 441 3007
Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa and Israel: +49 30 98607 1147
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com
UK: +44 7971 850 606
Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information