Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

September 04, 2014 07:33 ET

Bombardier's Catenary-Free Tram Technology Enables Start of Passenger Operations During Summer Youth Olympic Games in China

- First catenary-free trams with Bombardier technology in regular revenue service

- CSR Puzhen holds a 10-year-license to produce trams based on BOMBARDIER FLEXITY 2 technology

- New lightweight and long-life BOMBARDIER PRIMOVE batteries make overhead cables unnecessary

BEIJING, CHINA--(Marketwired - Sept. 4, 2014) - Bombardier partner CSR Nanjing Puzhen Rolling Stock Co. Ltd. (CSR Puzhen), a subsidiary of China South Locomotive and Rolling Stock Corporation Limited, has delivered the first four of 15 catenary-free low-floor trams to the city of Nanjing, China. Two of these trams have entered into passenger revenue service on the 8 km long Hexi line to support the 2nd Summer Youth Olympic Games, held in Nanjing between August 16 and 28, 2014.

Nanjing's new trams represent the next generation of tram technology. Based on new high-power BOMBARDIER PRIMOVE Li-Ion battery systems, the trams operate without overhead cables on 90 per cent of the lines. The batteries are re-charged seamlessly during normal passenger service via the pantograph, statically at tram stops and dynamically during acceleration. It is the first time ever that trams with PRIMOVE traction batteries have entered into passenger service as well as the first time, in general, that Li-ion batteries have been used for catenary-free tram operation.

After winning the order in April 2013, Bombardier's partner CSR Puzhen is building the trams, based on Bombardier's FLEXITY 2 technology, at its site in Nanjing. Bombardier will supply the MITRAC propulsion and controls equipment, the innovative FLEXX Urban 3000 bogies and the PRIMOVE battery systems. As CSR Puzhen's partner, Bombardier will also support the project under a 10-year technology license agreement, signed in 2012, that enables CSR Puzhen to sell and manufacture 100 per cent low-floor trams using Bombardier's technology in China (including Hong Kong and Macao).

In total, eight vehicles will run on the Hexi line, which connects four stops on central metro lines 1 and 2 with the venues of the Youth Olympic Games. Another seven vehicles are planned for the 9 km long Qilin line, also in Nanjing, that will be opened later this year. The Qilin line features steep sections and an elevated route over a major highway. Service on this demanding route will demonstrate the suitability of PRIMOVE batteries for reliable and efficient catenary-free operation (CFO) on nearly any tram line across the globe.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013, we posted revenues of $18.2 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER, FLEXITY 2, MITRAC, PRIMOVE, and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION
Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe
and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +49 30 98607 1147
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com
UK: +44 7971 850 606
Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information