Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

September 17, 2015 04:00 ET

Bombardier's FLEXITY 2 Tram Wins Prestigious Design Award

- Henry Van de Velde Label recognizes ecology, ergonomics, aesthetics, functionality, and quality in design

- Belgian transport operator De Lijn has ordered 88 BOMBARDIER FLEXITY 2 trams for the cities of Ghent and Antwerp

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - Sept. 17, 2015) -

Note to editors: To view the photos associated with this press release, please visit the following links:

http://media3.marketwire.com/docs/20150917_LRV_Bombardiers_FLEXITY_2_Tram_Wins_Prestigeous_Design_Award_1.JPG

http://media3.marketwire.com/docs/20150917_LRV_Bombardiers_FLEXITY_2_Tram_Wins_Prestigeous_Design_Award_2.JPG

The BOMBARDIER FLEXITY 2 tram in service in the Belgian cities of Ghent and Antwerp has won the prestigious Henry Van de Velde Label in recognition of its outstanding design. Competing against over 200 creative and innovative Flemish projects, an independent jury of experts selected the winners based on good design criteria: ecology, ergonomics, aesthetics, functionality and quality. Belgian design agency Yellow Window designed this comfortable and elegant tram for Flemish public transport operator, De Lijn.

"We are honored that the tram we designed for De Lijn has been awarded this nationally and internationally recognized quality label. It is a true recognition of a product with one design that serves 4 masters: the manufacturer, the operator, the driver and the passengers," says Axel Enthoven, Founder of Yellow Window, formerly known as Enthoven Associates.

The tram's stylish exterior attracted visitors' attention when it debuted at the 2014 InnoTrans rail exposition, in Berlin, Germany, however its design focus is not limited to the vehicle's exterior but extends into the tram's interior as well. It features spacious, sensible seating arrangements and gangways that enable passengers to walk through the entire length of the vehicle - thus enhancing passenger flow, comfort and safety. The tram's large multi-purpose areas easily accommodate wheelchairs, bicycles and prams and, at nearly 43 meters long, the trams do not only convince with their design, but also carry up to 40% more passengers than their predecessors.

In addition, all vehicles are also equipped with heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) systems for drivers and passengers. The passenger HVAC system features efficiency improvements such as variable CO2 controlled fresh airflow to ensure an optimized climate.

To date, De Lijn has ordered 88 FLEXITY 2 trams with the first entering service in the Belgian city of Ghent in May 2015. Ghent will receive 26 bi-directional, seven-module, 43 meters long vehicles able to accommodate 378 passengers. Antwerp will receive 62 mono-directional trams, twenty-four will be 43m long seven-module vehicles with a capacity for 380 passengers and 38 will be 31 meters long five-module vehicles able to accommodate 266 passengers capacity. All versions of the trams are 2.3 meters wide and equipped with meter gauge bogies with conventional axles offering a smooth ride as well as low wear and tear of both wheels and tracks. The motorized bogies feature fully suspended motors and gearboxes to keep ground vibrations to a minimum.

The tram's sleek and elegant design will shape the cityscape of the two biggest Flemish cities in the decades to come. FLEXITY trams have already received design awards in the cities of Berlin, Brussels, Frankfurt and Linz.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy, and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment, and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's leading manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2014, we posted revenues of $20.1 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html. Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail. To receive our press releases, please visit the RSS Feed section

BOMBARDIER, ECO 4, MITRAC and The Evolution of Mobility are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries. www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

FOR INFORMATION
Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2111
Loulou Hammad, loulou.hammad@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre.lefebvre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
Poland, Eastern Europe and CIS: +48 22 596 51 22
Maciej Kaczanowski, maciej.kaczanowski@pl.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +33 4801 4617
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@rail.bombardier.com
United Kingdom: +44 1332 251 238
James Rollin, james.rollin@uk.transport.bombardier.com
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information