Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

September 02, 2015 09:24 ET

Bombardier's Joint Venture Wins Contract to Build 15 Very High Speed Trains for China

- To date, the joint venture has delivered over 3,000 rail passenger cars to China, two-thirds of which have been for high speed trains

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - Sept. 2, 2015) - Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation announced today that its Chinese joint venture, Bombardier Sifang (Qingdao) Transportation Ltd. (BST), has been awarded a contract with China Railway Corp. (CRC) to supply 15 CRH380D very high speed trains for the country's rapidly growing high speed network. The contract for 15 eight-car trainsets is valued at approximately 2.4 billion Chinese RMBs ($ 381 million US, 339 million euro).

Bombardier owns 50% of the shares in BST, which is consolidated by Bombardier Transportation's partner CSR Sifang Rolling Stock Co., Ltd. Based on previous orders, BST started delivering its newest generation high speed train CRH380D in the first quarter of 2015. This early follow on order shows the confidence of China Railways in BST's leading high tech product.

Jianwei Zhang, President of Bombardier China said, "China now has the world's longest operational track mileage and largest number of high speed trains. This market represents a tremendous opportunity where we have been successful by offering innovative and highly reliable products. Bombardier is very proud to be involved in China's new high speed railway age by delivering leading edge, very high speed rail equipment through Chinese joint venture expertise and resources. We are confident to deliver more next-generation rail equipment with the most advanced rail technology for China from within China."

The new trainsets will be an integral part of an evolving high speed rail capability in China. With a maximum operating speed of 380 km/h, the CRH380D is a new generation high speed electric multiple units developed by BST. It is powered by BOMBARDIER ECO4 technology and a highly efficient BOMBARDIER MITRAC propulsion and control system, both supplied by a separate Bombardier Chinese joint venture, Bombardier CPC Propulsion System Co., Ltd. (BCP).

The CRH380D EMU consists of eight aluminum carbody cars and is equipped with VIP seats, first class seats, second class seats and a dining car. The trainsets will be manufactured at Bombardier Sifang (Qingdao) Transportation production facilities in Qingdao, China. Engineering will take place in Qingdao and at Bombardier centers in Europe with project management and components provided from sites in Europe and China.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy, and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment, and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's leading manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2014, we posted revenues of $20.1 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html. Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail. To receive our press releases, please visit the RSS Feed section

BOMBARDIER, ECO 4, MITRAC and The Evolution of Mobility are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries. www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html.

FOR INFORMATION
Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2111
Loulou Hammad, loulou.hammad@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre.lefebvre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
Poland, Eastern Europe and CIS: +48 22 596 51 22
Maciej Kaczanowski, maciej.kaczanowski@pl.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +33 4801 4617
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@rail.bombardier.com
United Kingdom: +44 1332 251 238
James Rollin, james.rollin@uk.transport.bombardier.com
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information