Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.A
TSX : BBD.B

Bombardier Transportation

August 20, 2012 09:27 ET

Bombardier's New High Speed Train Design Unveiled in Italy

- The Prime minister of Italy, Mario Monti, visited the full scale mock-up of the Frecciarossa 1000, the newest member of the BOMBARDIER ZEFIRO family of high speed trains

- The groundbreaking train design for cost efficient, high capacity transport will be exhibited at the InnoTrans 2012 rail trade show in Berlin

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwire - Aug. 20, 2012) - Italian rail operator Trenitalia has unveiled a full scale mock-up of the of the Frecciarossa 1000 high speed train currently being built by rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation and its consortium partner AnsaldoBreda. The Frecciarossa 1000 is the newest member of Bombardier's ZEFIRO family of high speed trains, known as the V300ZEFIRO model.

The unveiling took place in Rimini, Italy on Sunday, August 19. The Prime Minister of Italy, Mario Monti, attended the event along with Mauro Moretti, Managing Director, Ferrovie dello Stato (Italian Railways), Maurizio Manfellotto, Managing Director, AnsaldoBreda, and Roberto Tazzioli, Chief Country Representative of Bombardier Transportation in Italy.

"In addition to its beautiful design, our new train is a game changer in the rail industry," Tazzioli said. "It offers not only very high speeds of up to 360 km/h, but also cost-efficiency, a capacity of up to 600 passengers, reliability, safety and durability. The ZEFIRO family also sets a new benchmark for sustainable mobility by offering the lowest energy consumption per seat of any very high speed train in the world today. This unparalleled economic and environmental performance makes high speed rail an attractive alternative to other forms of travel."

The new train also offers an unusually high acceleration that ensures excellent travelling times even on winding routes. In September 2010 Bombardier and AnsaldoBreda won an order to deliver 50 trains. The first units are already in production and track tests will take place at the end of 2012.

After the Rimini exhibition, the Frecciarossa 1000 mock-up will travel to Berlin, Germany, to be displayed at the world's largest rail trade show, InnoTrans, from September 18 to 21.

About Bombardier in the high speed rail sector

Bombardier Transportation holds unparalleled expertise in the field by delivering more than 1,000 high speed trains and rail vehicles worldwide, either as sole supplier or in partnership. Bombardier has participated in the development of many of the world's leading high speed rail systems, including four different generations of TGV in France, the ICE trains used in Germany and the Netherlands, Italy's ETR 500 and Frecciarossa 1000, Spain's AVE 102 and AVE 112, China's Xinshisu, the BOMBARDIER ZEFIRO family of high speed trains and the Acela in the USA.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America indexes. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011, we posted revenues of $18.3 billion USD. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/transportation/media-centre.

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER, ZEFIRO and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

Frecciarossa 1000 is a trademark of Trenitalia.

FOR INFORMATION
Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux, Middle East and North Africa: +49 30 98607 1141
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc Laforge, marc.laforge@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre.lefebvre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +49 30 98607 1147
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@de.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Europe and South America: +35 1 919 693 728
Luis Ramos, luis.ramos@pt.transport.bombardier.com
UK and Ireland: +44 7785 450 065
Stephen Bethel, stephen.bethel@uk.transport.bombardier.com
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information