Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

June 19, 2015 03:00 ET

Bombardier's Newly-Established Chinese Joint Venture Wins First Contract for an INNOVIA Automated People Mover System

- Bombardier and CSR Puzhen Joint Venture to provide turnkey BOMBARDIER INNOVIA APM 300 automated people mover system (APM) including 44 vehicles

- New urban APM system to extend Shanghai Metro Line 8 to Shanghai's Pujiangzhen district

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - June 19, 2015) -

Editors Note: There is a photo associated with this Press Release.

Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation announced today that in consortium with its joint venture, CSR Puzhen Bombardier Transportation Systems Ltd., it has received an order from the Shanghai Shentong Metro Co. Ltd for a turnkey BOMBARDIER INNOVIA APM 300 automated people mover (APM) system, including 44 INNOVIA APM 300 automated people mover vehicles.

The total value of the contract with Shanghai Shentong Metro Co. Ltd. is 808 million Chinese Renminbi ($130 million US, 114 million euro)1 with Bombardier Transportation's direct share valued at approximately 89 million Chinese Renminbi ($14 million US, 13 million euro)1. Bombardier Transportation owns 50% of the shares in CSR Puzhen Bombardier Transportation Systems Ltd. and the joint venture is controlled by Bombardier Transportation's partner CSR Nanjing Puzhen Co. Ltd.

The new 6.6 km, dual-lane elevated, driverless INNOVIA APM 300 system with six stations will serve as an extension to the existing Shanghai Metro Line 8. It will connect the large residential district of Pujiangzhen to the Line 8 interchange at the Shendu Highway Station. System opening is planned for December 2017.

Dr. Jianwei Zhang, President of Bombardier China, said, "Bombardier's growing success is based on consistent market focus and an innovative product portfolio that is well-suited to the country's vibrant transit sector. We offer one of the world's broadest product portfolios, which is demonstrated by the scope of contracts we have for high-speed trains, locomotives, propulsion equipment, commuter trains, automated transit systems, metro cars, signalling systems and other products. China is a priority market, and our focus continues to show results."

The consortium will supply the electrical and mechanical (E&M) scope for the turnkey system, including 44 INNOVIA APM 300 vehicles, the BOMBARDIER CITYFLO 650 Communications-Based Train Control (CBTC) system as well as the Operations Control Centre. The 44 vehicles will be manufactured in China, configured into 11 four-car trains and feature inter-car gangways.

Bombardier has already supplied its world leading INNOVIA APM technology to China with two systems in operation. The first was in 2008, when Bombardier delivered a 2 km APM system at Beijing Capital International Airport in support of the Beijing Olympic Games. Afterwards, Bombardier delivered China's first urban APM system in the city of Guangzhou in 2010.

1 Total amount stated includes Chinese VAT; Bombardier's share stated excludes Chinese VAT

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy, and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's largest manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable, and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2014, we posted revenues of $20.1 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html. Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail. To receive our press releases, please visit the RSS Feed section.

BOMBARDIER, INNOVIA, CITYFLO, ECO 4 and The Evolution of Mobility are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

To view the photo associated with this press release, please visit the following link: http://media3.marketwire.com/docs/BBDT_0618.jpg

FOR INFORMATION
Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2111
Loulou Hammad, loulou.hammad@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
Poland, Eastern Europe and CIS: +48 22 596 51 22
Maciej Kaczanowski, maciej.kaczanowski@pl.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +33 4801 4617
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com
United Kingdom: +44 1332 251 238
James Rollin, james.rollin@uk.transport.bombardier.com
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information