Bombardier Transportation
TSX : BBD.B
TSX : BBD.A
OTCQX : BDRBF

Bombardier Transportation

October 02, 2014 08:42 ET

Bombardier's Regio 2N Double Deck Train Receives Homologation in France

- New generation of double deck trains offers more seating and comfort

- The first trains will be progressively rolled out in six regions starting in November 2014

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - Oct. 2, 2014) - SNCF received authorization today from the French Public Establishment of Railway Safety (EPSF) for the commercial operation of Bombardier's Regio 2N in single units. This essential step will allow for the progressive deployment of the first Regio 2N vehicles in the Aquitaine, Brittany, Centre, Nord-Pas de Calais, Provence-Alpes-Côte d' Azur and Rhône-Alpes regions from November.

The Regio 2N belongs to the new BOMBARDIER* OMNEO* double deck train platform designed by Bombardier teams in Crespin to meet the needs of SNCF and the French regions for seating capacity and service. It offers high modularity in terms of versions and interior configurations and is also fully compliant with the latest accessibility standards. The Regio 2N project also represents more than half of the activity of Bombardier's site in Crespin, involving 900 direct jobs plus employment at suppliers, the majority of which are French.

"The approval obtained today, the result of six years of joint work between SNCF and Bombardier teams and all partners involved in the process, is the confirmation that our new OMNEO platform meets French and European standards. This is truly the green light from the authorities allowing for the safe transport of passengers in our train," commented Pierre-Yves Cohen, Vice President of the Regio 2N project at Bombardier. "SNCF and the Regions will now be able to deploy the Regio 2N and improve the journeys of thousands of people who take regional trains daily."

An intense series of tests

In order to qualify and certify the various configurations of this innovative platform, Bombardier built nine test trains that travelled a total of over 150,000 kilometers. Bombardier teams also performed more than 4,000 tests required to verify compliance with the nearly 10,000 French and European standards covering safe passenger train travel. Test runs for approval of the double and triple Regio 2N train configurations are still ongoing. Authorization for commercial operation of the double unit is expected in the first semester of 2015. This test campaign has mobilized teams at Bombardier, but also at the SNCF, Eurailtest (ERT), the Railway Testing Agency (AEF), Certifer, BelgoRail, Réseau Ferré de France (RFF) and EPSF.

Contract data
Nine French regions have ordered a total of 159 Regio 2N trains under a contract signed in 2010 with SNCF on behalf of the regions, for a maximum of 860 trains. Orders per region are as follows: Aquitaine: 24 trains, Centre: 14 trains, Brittany: 17 trains, Nord-Pas de Calais: 18 trains, Provence- Alpes-Côte d' Azur: 16 trains, Rhone -Alpes: 40 trains, Picardy: 7 trains, Pays-de-la-Loire: 13 trains, Midi-Pyrenees: 10 trains.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER* ECO4* technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's only manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013, we posted revenues of $18.2 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre at www.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html. Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail.

BOMBARDIER, OMNEO and ECO4 are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2223
John Ince, john.ince@au.transport.bombardier.com
Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com
Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com
Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com
Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre@ca.transport.bombardier.com
China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com
France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com
Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134
Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com
India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com
Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com
Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com
Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com
Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com
South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com
Southern Africa: +49 30 98607 1147
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com
UK: +44 7971 850 606
Jeanette Bowden, jeanette@networkpr.co.uk
USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Contact Information