BP Canada Energy Company

BP Canada Energy Company

May 14, 2008 13:57 ET

BP Awards Alberta Teachers $500,000 in Grants and Scholarships

A+ for Energy Program funds innovative programs that teach energy in the classroom

CALGARY, ALBERTA--(Marketwire - May 14, 2008) - Alberta students will be building their own biodiesel engines, wind-powered machines and solar-powered ovens thanks to funding provided to 40 winning teachers by BP's A+ for Energy education program.

BP is awarding more than $500,000 in grants and scholarships to teachers across Alberta. Recognizing educators for their innovative approaches to teaching students about energy and energy conservation, A+ for Energy is providing grants of $5,000 and $10,000 for teachers to use on energy-education projects and materials in their classrooms.

"I want to inspire student learning, and the A+ for Energy grant will allow me to demonstrate the link between organic chemistry, energy and real life," said 2008 A+ for Energy Grant Winner Alicia Motuz, a Science Teacher at Bishop Grandin High School in Calgary, Alberta. "This grant provides us with an opportunity to test biodiesel fuel with waste vegetable oil from our school cafeteria, and then use the product in the mechanics classroom to run a diesel engine. Everyone is excited to work together."

"BP Canada and its employees are excited to support Alberta teachers by providing them with the resources they need to educate students on the importance of energy conservation and the development of alternative energy," said Randy McLeod, President and CEO of BP Canada.

"Thanks to the creativity and hard work of the winning teachers, thousands of students in Alberta will learn how broadly energy affects our daily lives. We salute our A+ for Energy winners for taking education one step further," said McLeod.

BP will join school administrators, business and community leaders and government officials in acknowledging the 2008 A+ for Energy award recipients at a celebration in their honour on Monday, August 18, 2008 at the Delta Lodge in Kananaskis, Alberta.

BP is granting awards to 41 projects at 38 different Alberta schools. To select the winners, two independent panels of experts in the education, science and environmental fields reviewed almost 100 submissions from Alberta teachers.

In addition to the cash grants, BP is also awarding winning teachers a scholarship to attend a three-day energy education conference facilitated by BP and Inside Education, an Alberta-based, nonprofit educational society that provides natural resources and environment education.

For a complete list of winning schools and teachers, please see below.

About BP

BP Canada Energy Company is part of the BP p.l.c. group of companies. BP is one of the world's largest energy companies, providing its customers with fuel for transportation, energy for heat and light, retail services and petrochemicals products for everyday items. BP's shares are traded under the symbol BP on the London and New York stock exchanges.

BP Canada is a Canadian leader in the exploration, production, processing and marketing of natural gas. We are the largest supplier of natural gas liquids (NGLs) in North America, marketing over 500,000 barrels per day of liquids including propane and butane. We also coordinate the marketing, sales, supply, and transportation of NGLs. We are active in five provinces and two territories, while our marketing and trading activities span the nation and expand to the U.S. market. We are also oil and aviation product marketers and are one of Canada's leading lubricants brands. Headquartered in Calgary, Alberta, BP's Canadian businesses employ more than 1,500 Canadians.

2008 A+ for Energy Winners
Uncas Elementary School Carlee Hurl

Altadore School Michelle Sperght
Argyil Centre Calgary Campus Susan Sawatzky
Bishop Grandin High School Alicia Motuz
Bishop Grandin High School Carolyn Gratton
Bowness High School Richard Kalina
Calgary Academy Diane Jankowski
Calgary French and International School Kristine Gagnon
Calgary French and International School Jessica McConnell
Central Memorial High School Leon Lau
Colonel Macleod School John Komori
Ernest Manning High School Hester Lam
F. E. Osborne School Merry Nenadov
Huntington Hills School Tanya Wanchulak
Jennie Elliott School Tracy Drefko
Lord Beaverbrook High School Maureen Pettigrew
Maple Ridge School Lorelei Harris
Montgomery Junior High Mat Powter
Rundle Academy James Burla
Terry Fox Junior High School Amy Tetz

Cold Lake
Grand Centre High School Jennifer Dusyk-Johnson

Brightview Elementary Linda Wight
Riverdale Elementary School Lyndi Karbonik
St. Jerome Science Academy Mary Anne MacDonald
St. Mary School Carol Durnford

Ecole Routhier School Dana Wood-Boissonneault

Fort Saskatchewan
Win Ferguson Community School Brandi Fokema

Fox Creek
Fox Creek School Jack Howell

High River
Ecole Senator Riley Middle School Bruno Payette

Hythe Regional Junior High School Debbie Harris

Medicine Hat
Crestwood School Audrey Pavelich

Niton Junction
Niton Central School Clay Beck

David Ovans Elementary School Lana Brand

Sherwood Park
Colchester Elementary School Bev denOuden
Holy Spirit Catholic School Rita Astalosch

St. Albert
J. J. Nearing School Monique Belanger-Aultman
St. Albert Catholic High School Carole Newton

Westmount Elementary School Lianne Jones

Sundre High School Kevin Challoner

Tilley School Janice Jensen

Contact Information