SOURCE: Butkus Foundation

Butkus Foundation

November 23, 2015 09:00 ET

Butkus Award® 31st Season College and High School Finalists Announced

CHICAGO, IL--(Marketwired - Nov 23, 2015) - Finalists for the 31st annual Butkus Award® honoring the nation's best collegiate and high school linebackers were announced today by the Butkus Foundation.

Butkus Award 2015 Collegiate Finalists  
Leonard Floyd University of Georgia
Deion Jones Louisiana State University
Raekwon McMillan Ohio State University
Reggie Ragland University of Alabama
Jaylon Smith University of Notre Dame

Smith (2012) and McMillan (2013) both won the high school Butkus Award, Smith is a returning finalist, and Ragland was a semifinalist last year.

Butkus Award 2015 High School Finalists  
Ben Davis Gordo High School, Ala.
Mique Juarez North High School, Torrance, Calif.
Caleb Kelly Clovis West High School, Fresno, Calif.
Maxs Tupai Murray High School, Salt Lake City, Utah
Lyndell Wilson Carver Senior High School, Montgomery, Ala.

Winners will be named by December 8 by the independent panel of 51 recruiters, scouts, coaches and journalists. A professional Butkus Award honoree will be named in early 2016. Selectors and selection criteria are posted at

The 2014 Butkus Award winners:

  • Professional: Luke Kuechly, Carolina Panthers
  • Collegiate: Eric Kendricks, UCLA (now Minnesota Vikings)
  • High School: Malik Jefferson, Poteet, Mesquite, Tex. (now Texas)

The Butkus Award was expanded in 2008 to honor linebackers at three levels while helping spread the word about Butkus' I Play Clean™ initiative which encourages teens to eat well, train hard, and play with attitude instead of resorting to steroids and performance-enhancing drugs. More information is available at and on facebook at

The Butkus Award, and on Facebook at 51.butkus, is presented by the Butkus Foundation, a 501c3 non-profit organization. The Butkus Award is part of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which includes the 22 most prestigious awards in college football with 700 years of selection excellence. Visit for more information.

Contact Information